Bug 81199

Summary: Evolution sends message in the clear when Compose is cancelled and message is re-sent from Compose window
Product: [Retired] Red Hat Linux Reporter: Need Real Name <hacker>
Component: evolutionAssignee: Jeremy Katz <katzj>
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG QA Contact:
Severity: medium Docs Contact:
Priority: high    
Version: 8.0CC: chris.ricker
Target Milestone: ---Keywords: Security
Target Release: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Fixed In Version: Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: Environment:
Last Closed: 2003-01-12 20:14:12 UTC Type: ---
Regression: --- Mount Type: ---
Documentation: --- CRM:
Verified Versions: Category: ---
oVirt Team: --- RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---

Description Need Real Name 2003-01-06 18:15:25 UTC
From Bugzilla Helper:
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.3a) Gecko/20021212

Description of problem:
If you are composing a message in Evolution, and click Send, you are (initially)
prompted for a dialog to enter your gpg passphrase. If you click Cancel on this
dialog, you are returned to the Compose window. If you change your outgoing name
or account from the Compose window in the "From:" field, and click Send again,
the message is sent in the clear, and no prompting for a gpg passphrase is offered. 

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
1.2.1


How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Compose a message in the normal Compose window

2. Make sure you have gpg enabled, and click Send

3. When the gpg passphrase dialog pops up and asks for your passphrase, click
Cancel, which will return you back to the Compose window

4. Change the outgoing address in the "From:" field of the Compose window

5. Click Send again

Actual Results:  The message is sent in the clear, and no prompting for the gpg
passphrase is offered or used. 

Expected Results:  The message should have offered the option of sending with
gpg signing, encrypting, or otherwise. 

Additional info:

Comment 1 Jeremy Katz 2003-01-12 20:14:12 UTC
I'm pretty certain this was a conscious design decision made upstream.  If you
cancel signing, then it disables signing on the message by default.