Bug 359391

Summary: Time is now wrong in Gnome
Product: [Fedora] Fedora Reporter: Jim Lewis <jim>
Component: tzdataAssignee: Petr Machata <pmachata>
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG QA Contact: Fedora Extras Quality Assurance <extras-qa>
Severity: medium Docs Contact:
Priority: low    
Version: 7CC: mnewsome
Target Milestone: ---   
Target Release: ---   
Hardware: i386   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Fixed In Version: Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: Environment:
Last Closed: 2007-10-31 13:53:31 UTC Type: ---
Regression: --- Mount Type: ---
Documentation: --- CRM:
Verified Versions: Category: ---
oVirt Team: --- RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---

Description Jim Lewis 2007-10-30 23:39:09 UTC
Description of problem:
As of Sunday morning (10/28/2007) I noticed the time was behind 1 hour as
reported by the clock in the GUI (Gnome). The command line time is fine. The
time on both were fine before Sunday. I assume something is wrong with the DST
settings. A check using zdump shows this:

CST6CDT  Sun Mar 11 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 CST isdst=0
gmtoff=-21600
CST6CDT  Sun Mar 11 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 CDT isdst=1
gmtoff=-18000
CST6CDT  Sun Nov  4 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 CDT isdst=1
gmtoff=-18000
CST6CDT  Sun Nov  4 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 CST isdst=0
gmtoff=-21600

TZ env var is: CST6CDT

I am using the default NTPD time server. 

I believe UTC comes up checked by default on the install. If so that is what I used.

I have looked at everything I could think of and just cannot figure out why my
systems are doing this (2 Fedora 7 and 1 RHEL5 Server). I just re-installed one
of my systems again with F7 and also applied every update. Problem is still there.


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:
All three systems are currently showing the wrong time in the GUI.

Steps to Reproduce:
1. See above.
2.
3.
  
Actual results:


Expected results:


Additional info:

Comment 1 Petr Machata 2007-10-31 13:53:31 UTC
Per e-mail communication, reporter doesn't observe the problem anymore. Closing.