This service will be undergoing maintenance at 00:00 UTC, 2016-08-01. It is expected to last about 1 hours

Bug 536235 (RHQ-607)

Summary: General Installer Improvements Tracker
Product: [Other] RHQ Project Reporter: Jay Shaughnessy <jshaughn>
Component: No ComponentAssignee: RHQ Project Maintainer <rhq-maint>
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX QA Contact:
Severity: medium Docs Contact:
Priority: medium    
Version: 1.0.1CC: cwelton, hrupp
Target Milestone: ---   
Target Release: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
URL: http://jira.rhq-project.org/browse/RHQ-607
Whiteboard:
Fixed In Version: Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: Environment:
Any
Last Closed: 2013-12-07 11:02:00 EST Type: ---
Regression: --- Mount Type: ---
Documentation: --- CRM:
Verified Versions: Category: ---
oVirt Team: --- RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Bug Depends On: 786599    
Bug Blocks:    

Description Jay Shaughnessy 2008-06-19 16:52:00 EDT
A user with an existing database that selects "Upgrade existing DB" during installation will lose his selection if he then clicks "Show Advanced Settings".  The user should not have his selection reverted.  In combination with RHQ-606 this could easily cause enormous unwanted data loss.

Comment 1 Jay Shaughnessy 2008-06-19 17:23:41 EDT
rhq-606 was fixed, so I lowered the priority.
Comment 2 Red Hat Bugzilla 2009-11-10 16:13:08 EST
This bug was previously known as http://jira.rhq-project.org/browse/RHQ-607
Comment 3 Heiko W. Rupp 2010-08-12 11:04:55 EDT
This has additional issues: after selecting e.g. Oracle as DB, the pre-populated password is gone. 
Adding it and clicking on test db will remove the password again.
Then selecting an existing server from the HA selection removes password and selection of  keep / overwrite database.
If you do that against oracle, you may even end up with a locked account because of too many bad passwords.
Comment 4 Jay Shaughnessy 2010-08-12 11:09:00 EDT
In addition to the issues around resetting or blanking out fields the user has already set (when the user does various things (like toggling advanced settings, clicking test connection, maybe making other changes to various options)), another problem area is what we do for upgrades.

If the database already has a one or more servers the installer will display a drop down that defaults to "New Server" (for adding an HA server), and the other entries are the existing server names (for performing an upgrade).

It's too easy to mess this up and add a server (uncommon) when you really want to upgrade (more common).

I'd suggest we split this into a radio button type approach:

  * Add New HA Server

  * Upgrade Existing Server

    [ List of current servers ]
Comment 5 Corey Welton 2010-08-12 15:54:22 EDT
This bug will be turned into an overall tracker for installer improvements.
Comment 6 Heiko W. Rupp 2013-12-07 11:02:00 EST
Closing as outdated.