Bug 817651

Summary: [as7] Document path behavior
Product: [Other] RHQ Project Reporter: Heiko W. Rupp <hrupp>
Component: DocumentationAssignee: Deon Ballard <dlackey>
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE QA Contact: Mike Foley <mfoley>
Severity: unspecified Docs Contact:
Priority: high    
Version: 4.3CC: hrupp
Target Milestone: ---   
Target Release: ---   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Whiteboard:
Fixed In Version: Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: Environment:
Last Closed: 2013-09-01 15:18:53 EDT Type: Bug
Regression: --- Mount Type: ---
Documentation: --- CRM:
Verified Versions: Category: ---
oVirt Team: --- RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---
Bug Depends On:    
Bug Blocks: 707223, 782579, 820425    

Description Heiko W. Rupp 2012-04-30 14:25:09 EDT
The path elements as config parts of e.g. a standalone server have entries that are computed by the server and are in fact read/only. They have the "read-only" checkbox set. See also Bug 817540

Due to limitations in the UI, they are still shown as editable and deletable, but in fact both will not work. If the user deletes them and stores the config, they will re-appear.

Path that are r/o 
start with

java.
jboss.
user.


The read-only checkbox is "write-once" meaning that if a user adds a new path entry and sets this checkbox to true or false, it will stick and become immutable. To change it, the path entry needs to be deleted and re-added
Comment 1 Heiko W. Rupp 2012-05-03 06:45:03 EDT
Situation is different (unfortunately):

If the user tries to delete an entry that has the read-only checkbox checked, 
we have no way of finding this out(*) and pass the removal to as7 which then 
throws an error. This means, the user must not try to edit or remove those 
entries.

*) We can not prevent removal at all, at the user may try to remove one of the 
entries he has added previously and this is allowed.


See also Bug 818549 and Bug 818546
Comment 2 Mike Foley 2012-05-08 14:11:22 EDT
per BZ triage crouch, foley, loleary
Comment 4 Heiko W. Rupp 2013-09-01 15:18:53 EDT
Bulk closing of BZs that have no target version set, but which are ON_QA for more than a year and thus are in production for a long time.