Bug 1031028 - Partitioning UI is odd, requires me to enter it and immediately click 'Done'
Partitioning UI is odd, requires me to enter it and immediately click 'Done'
Status: CLOSED RAWHIDE
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda (Show other bugs)
19
Unspecified Unspecified
unspecified Severity unspecified
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Anaconda Maintenance Team
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-11-15 08:53 EST by David Woodhouse
Modified: 2014-02-21 13:41 EST (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2014-02-21 13:41:45 EST
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description David Woodhouse 2013-11-15 08:53:46 EST
I detest the default of using LVM on new installs. It introduces needless complexity and potential for boot failures, while offering no real benefit in the majority of cases. I always turn it off during installs.

In the new installer, it seems that I need to select the disk/partitioning 'spoke' in the installer, and then immediately click 'Done'.

Think about that for a second. I go into the menu, only to *exit* it without doing anything.

And *then*, the dialog comes up in which I can switch from LVM to standard partitioning.

Surely this is wrong? Even though I've done it a number of times now, I still forget and get confused, and it's *massively* counterintuitive that after selecting the menu, what I need to do next is just click 'Done' to immediately exit it again. I *always* find myself looking for the option to set the partition types, randomly clicking and selecting/deselecting the install disk, etc.
Comment 1 David Shea 2014-02-21 13:41:45 EST
F21 redoes this screen so that you configure automatic layout options (or choose to do custom partitioning) before hitting Done.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.