Bug 1127937 - Plugins deleted from prior RHQ version cause error when detected in upgraded version
Summary: Plugins deleted from prior RHQ version cause error when detected in upgraded ...
Keywords:
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: RHQ Project
Classification: Other
Component: Plugins
Version: 4.12
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
unspecified vote
Target Milestone: ---
: ---
Assignee: RHQ Project Maintainer
QA Contact: Mike Foley
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-08-07 22:35 UTC by Elias Ross
Modified: 2014-08-07 22:36 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed:


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Elias Ross 2014-08-07 22:35:54 UTC
Description of problem:

Previous to RHQ 4.12 install, I deleted the cobbler plugin (and several others) I did not want.

When I installed RHQ 4.12, the server tries to install them again.

22:07:47,154 ERROR [org.rhq.enterprise.server.core.plugin.ProductPluginDeployer] (pool-6-thread-1) Failed to register RHQ plugin file [file:/usr/local/rhq-server/modules/org/rhq/server-startup/main/deployments/rhq.ear/rhq-downloads/rhq-plugins/rhq-cobbler-plugin-4.12.0.jar]: javax.ejb.EJBException: java.lang.IllegalStateException: A deleted version of AgentPlugin [id=0, name=Cobbler, md5=f9c89087eff0099abbec8c9fe4195b0b] already exists in the database. The plugin cannot be installed until the deleted version is purged from the database (which should happen a couple of minutes after all servers acknowledged the plugin was deleted). Especially, the plugin won't be purged if ANY of the servers in the HA cloud have been down at the point in time the plugin was deleted and haven't gone back up yet.


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable): 4.12


How reproducible: Always


Steps to Reproduce:
1. Use RHQ version < 4.12
2. Delete a plugin that ships with RHQ (e.g. cobbler)
3. Upgrade to RHQ 4.12


Actual results:

Exception, error, etc.


Expected results:

Probably should be just a warning with no stack trace, if anything, but now there's a giant stack trace and error.

It might make sense to also just delete the .jar files if they aren't needed from the new version.


Notes:

If a plugin is deleted/purged in 4.11; when upgrading to 4.12 it will reinstall them again. This may mean no error message, but may not be desirable as well.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.