This service will be undergoing maintenance at 00:00 UTC, 2017-10-23 It is expected to last about 30 minutes
Bug 1261714 - [RFE][docker-storage-setup] rollback or remove storage is created by docker-storage-setup
[RFE][docker-storage-setup] rollback or remove storage is created by docker-s...
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7
Classification: Red Hat
Component: docker (Show other bugs)
7.2
x86_64 Linux
low Severity low
: rc
: ---
Assigned To: Vivek Goyal
Alex Jia
: Extras, FutureFeature
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2015-09-09 23:23 EDT by Alex Jia
Modified: 2015-09-10 22:51 EDT (History)
6 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2015-09-10 09:32:19 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Alex Jia 2015-09-09 23:23:39 EDT
Description of problem:
It will be very convenient for users if we can provide a kind of rollback function like docker-storage-rollback when fail to create backend storage(VG, LVM, etc) for docker via docker-storage-setup, a similar idea is also to provide docker-storage-cleanup to support removing created storage by docker-storage-setup for users. 


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
# rpm -q kernel docker
kernel-3.10.0-289.el7.x86_64
docker-1.7.1-115.el7.x86_64


How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1.
2.
3.

Actual results:


Expected results:


Additional info:
Comment 2 Vivek Goyal 2015-09-10 09:32:19 EDT
While it will be convenient, I think it is not trivial at the same time this path will be filled with various kind of errors.

- First of all d-s-s will have to have some kind of persistent data which keeps
  track of all the actions d-s-s performed. So that these actions can be rolled
  back.

- If user created some volumes or directories which have same name what d-s-s uses then cleanup will remove those too and user will lose data.

So I prefer that we document it and let user do the cleanup manually, carefully making sure they are not losing any important data they might want to retain.
Comment 3 Alex Jia 2015-09-10 22:51:05 EDT
(In reply to Vivek Goyal from comment #2)
> - If user created some volumes or directories which have same name what
> d-s-s uses then cleanup will remove those too and user will lose data.
> 

Perhaps, the docker-migrate script can help save important data before removing storage.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.