Red Hat Bugzilla – Bug 1268824
Uncheck "Format Domain, i.e. Storage Content will be lost!" by default
Last modified: 2016-02-10 12:52:26 EST
When removing a Storage Domain, please uncheck the "Format Domain, i.e. Storage Content will be lost!" checkbox by default.
Data loss risk is to high for users who move Storage Domains between Data Centers.
Maor - didn't we do this already?
If not - please let's do it.
(In reply to Allon Mureinik from comment #1)
> Maor - didn't we do this already?
> If not - please let's do it.
We did this to keep the default behavior (before the import storage domain feature) consistent.
The idea behind this was that most of the use cases of removing a Storage Domain will most likely be to format it.
Fair enough. I'm assuming the technical side is as trivial as changing a boolean, so this becomes a product decision.
Yaniv/Einav, your two cents?
I personally agree with Maor, but Yaniv has the final call.
(In reply to Allon Mureinik from comment #3)
> Fair enough. I'm assuming the technical side is as trivial as changing a
> boolean, so this becomes a product decision.
I've uploaded a draft patch that changes the default value, just in case.
At the worst case I will abandon it later
> Yaniv/Einav, your two cents?
No customer request to change this, so let's keep the default we have.
Agreed, the value of preserving the history behavior outweighs this request, closing.
(In reply to Yaniv Dary from comment #6)
> No customer request to change this, so let's keep the default we have.
Yaniv, please explain customer that if he removes a storage domain and accidentally presses "ok" without unchecking the checkbox, he will immediately lose all VM data. There is no alert prompt before everything is erased.
rm / -rf
Since it is coming for a user of the system this changes the picture.
I would change the default if it bothers oVirt users.
Target release should be placed once a package build is known to fix a issue. Since this bug is not modified, the target version has been reset. Please use target milestone to plan a fix for a oVirt release.
This patch was merged to the ovirt-engine-3.6 branch after the 3.6.0 split. It will be part of oVirt 3.6.1.
Verified, rhevm-18.104.22.168-0.1.el6.noarch (build 3.6.1-4)
Now, when deleting a storage domain - "Format Domain" is unchecked by default.
Created attachment 1106344 [details]
snapshot after the fix
According to verification status and target milestone this issue should be fixed in oVirt 3.6.1. Closing current release.