Bug 169376 - Bug reopen doesn't have any way to cope with bug owner changes
Bug reopen doesn't have any way to cope with bug owner changes
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Product: Bugzilla
Classification: Community
Component: Bugzilla General (Show other bugs)
3.6
All Linux
medium Severity medium (vote)
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Jeff Fearn
Kevin Baker
: FutureFeature
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-09-27 13:35 EDT by Suzanne Hillman
Modified: 2014-12-01 18:08 EST (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2012-06-21 02:53:55 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Suzanne Hillman 2005-09-27 13:35:36 EDT
Sometimes, bug owners change. This is a problem when a bug is reopened.

A possible option might be, to automatically reassign a newly reopened bug to
the current bug owner. This way, if an owner changes, reopened bugs are actually
owned by someone who still owns the package. (instead, say, someone who works
somewhere else, now)
Comment 1 David Lawrence 2005-09-27 13:59:25 EDT
One easy way to handle this is to still display the "Bug Reassignment" section
even for CLOSED bugs. Currently it is not displayed. This would allow someone
with sufficient edit privileges to REOPEN the bug and also reassign the bug to
the new default owner. We could even have the Reassign to default owner radio
button automatically selected if the bug is closed. Sound sane?
Comment 2 Suzanne Hillman 2005-09-27 15:03:59 EDT
This assumes that someone reopening a bug would know that the problem exists. I
think this is an invalid assumption, since it'd most probably be someone
external reopening bugs.

It needs to be done automatically...

Another suggestion I was given is to check to see if the person currently
assigned the bug on REOPEN is still a member of the Devel group, and if not,
reassign to the new component owner.
Comment 4 David Lawrence 2005-09-27 16:27:37 EDT
Well if the bugzilla account is disabled which I normally do if IS/IT informs me
that someone has left, then it could just do a check for that before doing the
reassignment. If all checks fail then it just leaves the assigned to alone. The
you run into the problem where the current assigned to is no longer valid and
the new one is not either, then we just punt. 

Shillman, not sure why we would need to check if the person is still in the
'devel' group, that is not relevant for all bugs. I think just checking to see
if the account is disabled would be sufficient.
Comment 5 Suzanne Hillman 2005-09-27 16:31:44 EDT
> I think just checking to see if the account is disabled would be sufficient.

Agreed.
Comment 6 David Lawrence 2008-09-16 12:53:40 EDT
Red Hat Bugzilla is now using version 3.2 of the Bugzilla codebase and therefore this bug will need to be re-verified against the new release. With the updated code this bug may no longer be relevant or may have been fixed in the new code.
Updating bug version to 3.2.
Comment 7 David Lawrence 2010-01-15 12:32:58 EST
Red Hat Bugzilla is now using version 3.4 of the Bugzilla codebase and
therefore this feature will need to be implemented against the new release.
Updating bug version to 3.2.
Comment 10 David Lawrence 2010-08-25 17:41:12 EDT
Red Hat has now upgraded to Bugzilla 3.6 and this bug will now be reassigned to that version. It would be helpful to the Bugzilla Development Team if this bug is verified to still be an issue with the latest version. If it is no longer an issue, then feel free to close, otherwise please comment that it is still a problem and we will try to address the issue as soon as we can.

Thanks
Bugzilla Development Team
Comment 12 Jeff Fearn 2012-05-30 00:39:20 EDT
As part of the recent Bugzilla 2.4 upgrade the Bugzilla team are cleaning up bugs opened against old versions of Bugzilla. This bug has been flagged as an old bug and will be CLOSED WONTFIX in 7 days time.

If you believe this bug is an issue in the latest Bugzilla version please comment on this bug within 7 days. Doing so will ensure this bug is not closed automatically.

Thanks, the Bugzilla team.
Comment 13 Jeff Fearn 2012-06-21 02:53:55 EDT
Closing inactive bugs are part of Bugzilla cleanup.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.