Bug 359391 - Time is now wrong in Gnome
Time is now wrong in Gnome
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: tzdata (Show other bugs)
7
i386 Linux
low Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Petr Machata
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2007-10-30 19:39 EDT by Jim Lewis
Modified: 2015-05-04 21:33 EDT (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2007-10-31 09:53:31 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Jim Lewis 2007-10-30 19:39:09 EDT
Description of problem:
As of Sunday morning (10/28/2007) I noticed the time was behind 1 hour as
reported by the clock in the GUI (Gnome). The command line time is fine. The
time on both were fine before Sunday. I assume something is wrong with the DST
settings. A check using zdump shows this:

CST6CDT  Sun Mar 11 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 CST isdst=0
gmtoff=-21600
CST6CDT  Sun Mar 11 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 CDT isdst=1
gmtoff=-18000
CST6CDT  Sun Nov  4 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 CDT isdst=1
gmtoff=-18000
CST6CDT  Sun Nov  4 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 CST isdst=0
gmtoff=-21600

TZ env var is: CST6CDT

I am using the default NTPD time server. 

I believe UTC comes up checked by default on the install. If so that is what I used.

I have looked at everything I could think of and just cannot figure out why my
systems are doing this (2 Fedora 7 and 1 RHEL5 Server). I just re-installed one
of my systems again with F7 and also applied every update. Problem is still there.


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:
All three systems are currently showing the wrong time in the GUI.

Steps to Reproduce:
1. See above.
2.
3.
  
Actual results:


Expected results:


Additional info:
Comment 1 Petr Machata 2007-10-31 09:53:31 EDT
Per e-mail communication, reporter doesn't observe the problem anymore. Closing.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.