Bug 441852 - doesn't seem very HIG-compliant
Summary: doesn't seem very HIG-compliant
Status: CLOSED NEXTRELEASE
Alias: None
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: gnome-packagekit   
(Show other bugs)
Version: rawhide
Hardware: All Linux
low
low
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Robin Norwood
QA Contact: Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2008-04-10 15:23 UTC by Bill Nottingham
Modified: 2014-03-17 03:13 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2008-04-26 11:00:18 UTC
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Bill Nottingham 2008-04-10 15:23:20 UTC
Description of problem:

For example, the update reviewer is:

[ Help ] [ Update System ] [ Review ] [ Close ]

and if you click 'review', the button that updates the system moves.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

gnome-packagekit-0.1.11-3.fc9.x86_64

Comment 1 Richard Hughes 2008-04-11 15:04:16 UTC
So, should it be:

[ Help ]   [ Update System ] [ Review ] [ Close ]
then
[ Help ]   [ Apply updates ] [ Back ] [ Close ]

or

[ Help ]   [ Review ] [ Update System ] [ Close ]
then
[ Help ]   [ Back ] [ Apply updates ] [ Close ]

Thanks!


Comment 2 Bill Nottingham 2008-04-11 15:24:00 UTC
What I *think* it should be is:

[ Help ] [ Review updates ] [ Update System ]
then
[ Help ] [ Back ] [ Apply updates ]

with [ Close ] handled by the WM close.

If you're not doing that, [ Close ] should probably be replaced by [ Cancel ], and
placed in between Review/Back and Update/Apply.

Matthias?

Comment 3 Matthias Clasen 2008-04-11 15:43:48 UTC
I agree with the button ordering in general, but I'm a bit oldschool and feel
uncomfortable if there is no close button.

It is not cancel, though, since there is nothing to cancel, just a window to
close. The only place where a cancel button makes sense is where we have it, on
the progress dialog while the update is running.

Comment 4 Richard Hughes 2008-04-26 11:00:18 UTC
I've done this in master:

[ Help ]   [ Review ] [ Update System ] [ Close ]
then
[ Help ]   [ Back ] [ Apply updates ] [ Close ]

It'll be in 0.2.x and not backported to 0.1.x - it's a UI change after all.

Comment 5 Bill Nottingham 2008-04-28 15:44:15 UTC
For 0.2, I think the update buttons should go on the far right.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.