Bug 456853 - "Always save a version on closing" doesn't work
"Always save a version on closing" doesn't work
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5
Classification: Red Hat
Component: openoffice.org (Show other bugs)
5.2
i386 Linux
low Severity low
: rc
: ---
Assigned To: Caolan McNamara
desktop-bugs@redhat.com
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2008-07-28 03:58 EDT by Yolkfull Chow
Modified: 2008-07-28 05:11 EDT (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2008-07-28 04:55:55 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)


External Trackers
Tracker ID Priority Status Summary Last Updated
OpenOffice.org 63679 None None None Never

  None (edit)
Description Yolkfull Chow 2008-07-28 03:58:56 EDT
Description of problem:
After select "Always save a version on closing", do some changes to the document
and check the File->Versions, there is none new version is automatically saved.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
openoffice.org-*-2.3.0-6.7.el5

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. open/create a text document
2. click File->Versions and check "Always save a version on closing" is selected 
3. do some changes to the document and then close the file
4. check the list of Existing versions
  
Actual results:
None newer version is automatically saved

Expected results:
Openoffice.org should automatically save a new version when close the document
after make some changes

Additional info:
Comment 1 Caolan McNamara 2008-07-28 04:12:39 EDT
Are you *sure*. It works for me. When I do this I get the usual "you have
unsaved changes, do you want to save them", on trying to close with unsaved
changes, and if you agree to save then it appends a new version to the list of
versions in the versions list.
Comment 2 Yolkfull Chow 2008-07-28 04:29:41 EDT
So, what you mean is only when we close with unsaved changes can this function
will work? And if we save it before closing, the new version will not be added
to that list?
Comment 3 Caolan McNamara 2008-07-28 04:55:55 EDT
Yes, what is does is "If you have made changes to your document, a new version
will be saved when you close the document", so if you have a document, and use
"save" it updates the current version of the document and you no longer have
unsaved changes. The auto-save will only save a new version if there are unsaved
changes when you close i.e. this is
http://qa.openoffice.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=63679

Its this way by design, might be an rather clunky design which needs better text
like "Always save unsaved changes to a new version on closing"
Comment 4 Yolkfull Chow 2008-07-28 05:11:18 EDT
> Its this way by design, might be an rather clunky design which needs better text
> like "Always save unsaved changes to a new version on closing"

Yes, I agree, moreover openoffice.org should clarify clearly about this in its
Online Help Content.
Agree to close as NOTABUG.

Thank you very much,Caolan.:)

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.