Bug 495471 - [RHEL 4] Pakistan plan to introduce DST from April 15, 2009 - need updated tzdata urgently!
[RHEL 4] Pakistan plan to introduce DST from April 15, 2009 - need updated tz...
Status: CLOSED ERRATA
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4
Classification: Red Hat
Component: tzdata (Show other bugs)
4.9
All Linux
high Severity urgent
: rc
: ---
Assigned To: Petr Machata
BaseOS QE
:
Depends On: 495470
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2009-04-13 07:10 EDT by Jose Plans
Modified: 2015-05-04 21:34 EDT (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: 495470
Environment:
Last Closed: 2009-04-15 05:44:45 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Jose Plans 2009-04-13 07:10:03 EDT
+++ This bug was initially created as a clone of Bug #495470 +++

Escalated to Bugzilla from IssueTracker

--- Additional comment from tao@redhat.com on 2009-04-13 07:06:38 EDT ---

Description of problem:
Pakistan Govt only a week ago has decided to have DST this year and its to begin on April 15th!
http://www.worldtimezone.com/dst_news/

The latest tzdata file on this official(?) tzdata site doesn't even have the Pakistan DST for 2009:
ftp://elsie.nci.nih.gov/pub/

Can we create an entry for Pakistani DST in 2009 and get it out to the customer within 2 days?!  It is quite urgent for the customer so I'm setting the level of this ticket to match.

Cheers,
Mark
This event sent from IssueTracker by jplans  [SEG - Base OS]
 issue 285168

--- Additional comment from tao@redhat.com on 2009-04-13 07:06:39 EDT ---

I imagine it affects all versions of RHEL, that is why the version is
'UNKNOWN'.

Here is the current tzdata on RHEL5.3 showing the 2009 daylight savings
info isn't in there for Pakistan:

[root@mhuth ~]# rpm -q tzdata
tzdata-2008i-1.el5
[root@mhuth ~]# zdump -v Asia/Karachi
...
Asia/Karachi  Sat Apr  6 19:00:59 2002 UTC = Sun Apr  7 00:00:59 2002 PKT
isdst=0 gmtoff=18000
Asia/Karachi  Sat Apr  6 19:01:00 2002 UTC = Sun Apr  7 01:01:00 2002 PKST
isdst=1 gmtoff=21600
Asia/Karachi  Sat Oct  5 18:00:59 2002 UTC = Sun Oct  6 00:00:59 2002 PKST
isdst=1 gmtoff=21600
Asia/Karachi  Sat Oct  5 18:01:00 2002 UTC = Sat Oct  5 23:01:00 2002 PKT
isdst=0 gmtoff=18000
Asia/Karachi  Sat May 31 18:59:59 2008 UTC = Sat May 31 23:59:59 2008 PKT
isdst=0 gmtoff=18000
Asia/Karachi  Sat May 31 19:00:00 2008 UTC = Sun Jun  1 01:00:00 2008 PKST
isdst=1 gmtoff=21600
Asia/Karachi  Fri Oct 31 17:59:59 2008 UTC = Fri Oct 31 23:59:59 2008 PKST
isdst=1 gmtoff=21600
Asia/Karachi  Fri Oct 31 18:00:00 2008 UTC = Fri Oct 31 23:00:00 2008 PKT
isdst=0 gmtoff=18000
Asia/Karachi  9223372036854689407 = NULL
Asia/Karachi  9223372036854775807 = NULL



This event sent from IssueTracker by jplans  [SEG - Base OS]
 issue 285168
Comment 9 errata-xmlrpc 2009-04-15 05:44:45 EDT
An advisory has been issued which should help the problem
described in this bug report. This report is therefore being
closed with a resolution of ERRATA. For more information
on therefore solution and/or where to find the updated files,
please follow the link below. You may reopen this bug report
if the solution does not work for you.

http://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHEA-2009-0422.html

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.