Bug 500719 - "Channel has been deleted" message is displayed one step earlier before confirming
"Channel has been deleted" message is displayed one step earlier before confi...
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Product: Red Hat Satellite 5
Classification: Red Hat
Component: WebUI (Show other bugs)
530
All Linux
low Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Jay Dobies
Sayli Karmarkar
:
Depends On:
Blocks: 456985
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2009-05-13 15:52 EDT by Sayli Karmarkar
Modified: 2015-03-22 21:10 EDT (History)
2 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version: sat530
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2009-09-10 16:37:06 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)
Channel deleted message displayed before confirmation (120.40 KB, image/png)
2009-05-13 16:05 EDT, Sayli Karmarkar
no flags Details
Screenshot for comment #2 (101.41 KB, image/png)
2009-05-14 12:38 EDT, Sayli Karmarkar
no flags Details

  None (edit)
Description Sayli Karmarkar 2009-05-13 15:52:15 EDT
Description of problem:
"Channel has been deleted" message is displayed after clicking on "delete software channel" before confirming deletion by clicking on "Delete Channel" button.  

Display only bug as channel is not really deleted until we click "Delete channel" button. 

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
The problem seems to have appeared in Satellite-5.3.0-RHEL5-re20090507.1-i386 iso. I am not able to reproduce it in previous x86_86 iso (Satellite-5.3.0-RHEL5-re20090424.1-x86_64). 

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create custom channel xyz
2. Create another custom channel xyzw
3. Go to manage software channels. 
4. Delete each of them and observe when is "Channel ... has been deleted" message displayed. 
  
Actual results:
Message displayed before confirming deletion (Not every time. If you go back and delete again, it doesn't happen)

Expected results:
Message should be displayed after confirming deletion every time.
Comment 1 Sayli Karmarkar 2009-05-13 16:05:46 EDT
Created attachment 343868 [details]
Channel deleted message displayed before confirmation
Comment 2 Sayli Karmarkar 2009-05-14 12:35:49 EDT
On some more testing, it seems like the message is displayed later and not earlier. In previous snapshot also, you can see the message "channel foobar has been deleted" when we are trying to delete "foobar-1". This is because foobar was deleted before foobar-1. 

So basically, if I delete a channel "xyz" and do some other operation, say clone a channel, the message channel "xyz" has been deleted is displayed on clone channel page. 

~SayliK
Comment 3 Sayli Karmarkar 2009-05-14 12:38:43 EDT
Created attachment 344006 [details]
Screenshot for comment #2
Comment 4 Jay Dobies 2009-05-19 10:16:42 EDT
Master
commit	4d51255e843d56af704f7163fafcb7c76d1a6622
tree	4cd4060086d96645a2f05a40b132d8ecad43c0f7

Vader
commit	ceb0dd052e359428482f0de8d3927ea1099266cb
tree	ad04247f1d5b3da2a181edb2666c2d121a6a57a9

Ported delete channel page to Java; success/failure messages now properly displayed on manage channels page.
Comment 5 Sayli Karmarkar 2009-05-22 16:25:48 EDT
verified.
Comment 6 Michael Mráka 2009-08-28 04:34:36 EDT
Verified in stage -> RELEASE_PENDING.

* created 2 custom channels
* deleted both custom channels
* message appearead after delete confirmation
Comment 7 Brandon Perkins 2009-09-10 16:37:06 EDT
An advisory has been issued which should help the problem
described in this bug report. This report is therefore being
closed with a resolution of ERRATA. For more information
on therefore solution and/or where to find the updated files,
please follow the link below. You may reopen this bug report
if the solution does not work for you.

http://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHEA-2009-1434.html

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.