Bug 589183 - Normal user with mgmt permissions to a specific channel can delete channel
Normal user with mgmt permissions to a specific channel can delete channel
Status: CLOSED DEFERRED
Product: Red Hat Satellite 5
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Server (Show other bugs)
530
All Linux
low Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Justin Sherrill
Red Hat Satellite QA List
:
Depends On:
Blocks: 462714
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-05-05 11:28 EDT by Ivan Makfinsky
Modified: 2015-05-29 16:12 EDT (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2015-05-29 16:12:11 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Ivan Makfinsky 2010-05-05 11:28:32 EDT
Description of problem:
A "normal user" w/o Channel Admin permissions that has been given explicit management permissions to a given channel can delete the channel entirely. However, this button is only visible when managing the packages in the channel.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
RHN Satellite 5.3.0

How reproducible:
Every time.

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create a normal user.
2. Assign the user management permission to a specific custom channel.
3. Login as user.
4. Click Channels tab, follow on to "Manage Software Channels" and click "Packages" link.
5. Click on "delete software channel" link.
6. Confirm channel deletion.
  
Actual results:
Channel is deleted.

Expected results:
Management permission to channel should not allow user to delete the channel, should only have access to associate (add/remove) packages and errata to channel.

Additional info:
Verified that the user does not have Channel Administrator rights, just a normal user.
Comment 1 Clifford Perry 2010-05-12 10:00:05 EDT
I will be honest - the observed behavior in this bug to me is 'correct' and expected behavior to myself based on my knowledge of how the code works.

I can understand how an admin of Satellite wants to give access for someone to manage a channel and its contents, but not have the ability to delete that one specific channel. 

If you are able to open a support ticket, we can directly associate your account with Red Hat to this BZ report for tracking. I would like to get some specific use case where this behavior is 'bad' to balance/reason this change in behavior (if we fix this bug) since we may have other customers who actually depend/use this capability currently. 

Cliff.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.