Bug 607086 - RFE: change layout of image deletion window
RFE: change layout of image deletion window
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6
Classification: Red Hat
Component: virt-manager (Show other bugs)
6.1
All Linux
low Severity low
: rc
: ---
Assigned To: Cole Robinson
Virtualization Bugs
: FutureFeature
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-06-23 03:41 EDT by Jes Sorensen
Modified: 2010-06-23 09:39 EDT (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2010-06-23 09:39:52 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Jes Sorensen 2010-06-23 03:41:39 EDT
Description of problem:
When deleting a virt image using virt-manager, it pops up a window where one has to say 'delete' or 'cancel', with a small checkbox one can check if the actual image is to be deleted, not just the XML data.

I deleted multiple images without noticing this checkbox and I was about to file a bug against it when I discovered it in my last test.

Since deleting the image file is a very common case, IMHO it would make more sense to change the three main click buttons to 'Delete Virt Machine' 'Delete Virt Machine and Image' 'Cancel'. That way users will actually notice it and not end up with 17 data images in /var/lib/libvirt/images that they thought were gone.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1.
2.
3.
  
Actual results:


Expected results:


Additional info:
Comment 2 RHEL Product and Program Management 2010-06-23 04:07:38 EDT
This feature request did not get resolved in time for Feature Freeze
for the current Red Hat Enterprise Linux release and has now been
denied. It has been proposed for the next Red Hat Enterprise Linux
release. If you would still like it considered for the current
release as an exception, please make that request with your support
representative.
Comment 3 Cole Robinson 2010-06-23 09:39:52 EDT
(In reply to comment #0)
> Description of problem:
> When deleting a virt image using virt-manager, it pops up a window where one
> has to say 'delete' or 'cancel', with a small checkbox one can check if the
> actual image is to be deleted, not just the XML data.
> 
> I deleted multiple images without noticing this checkbox and I was about to
> file a bug against it when I discovered it in my last test.
> 
> Since deleting the image file is a very common case, IMHO it would make more
> sense to change the three main click buttons to 'Delete Virt Machine' 'Delete
> Virt Machine and Image' 'Cancel'. That way users will actually notice it and
> not end up with 17 data images in /var/lib/libvirt/images that they thought
> were gone.
> 

I don't think adding a separate button is the way to go. It has a few downsides:

1) User might accidentally hit the wrong button and remove an image they wanted to keep. This is a big fear, UI that might cause accidental data loss.

2) Removing the check box would require the storage list to always be sensitive (not greyed out). This would scare users who didn't want to remove VM storage: they might spend unnecessary time unchecking all storage options, only to realize the choice is also dictated by the bottom buttons. If you meant dropping the storage list altogether, I also disagree: the dialog can't be a simple choice of 'delete with image' vs 'delete' if the guest has multiple images attached, including physical partitions and CDROM media, etc. The user needs proper feedback here about what exactly we are removing.

3) Not sure why we should expect users to evaluate the content of all dialog buttons if they can't be expected to evaluate the primary content of the dialog (storage list and the check box).

4) Original UI had approval from a proper UI designer.

Also, the concerns about '17 data images' aren't as likely as you probably expect. Developers are probably using the 'delete' functionality most often, and they will often be kicking off a guest with the same name each time (as you were doing with virt-install). If creating this VM via virt-manager, we are smart enough to try and use an abandoned disk image with the expected name, so we don't pollute the host system with multiple disk images.

So closing this as NOTABUG

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.