Bug 72121 - register your computer twice, almost instantly
Summary: register your computer twice, almost instantly
Status: CLOSED DUPLICATE of bug 72119
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Public Beta
Classification: Retired
Component: up2date   
(Show other bugs)
Version: null
Hardware: i686
OS: Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Adrian Likins
QA Contact: Jay Turner
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2002-08-21 08:58 UTC by Barry K. Nathan
Modified: 2015-01-07 23:59 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2002-08-21 08:58:10 UTC
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Barry K. Nathan 2002-08-21 08:58:05 UTC
Description of problem:
It's trivial to accidentally reregister your computer (create a duplicate
profile) in a matter of seconds.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
up2date 2.9.46-1 (from a freshly installed (null))


How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
0. Make sure you register during this up2date session (e.g., first boot wizard
or the like).
1. Reach the channel list screen.
2. Click "Back". You should be at the click-Forward-to-register screen that
precedes the channel list -- a second time.
3. Click "Forward".

Actual Results:
A new profile is created, and the old one is stranded. If you're just using the
free one-computer RHN trial then the entitlement is with the old one, and
up2date quits with an error about your system not being entitled. (To fix this,
you must then log into the RHN web site, delete the entitled profile which
confusingly enough has the same name as the unentitled profile of course, and
finally assign the entitlement to the new unentitled profile.)

Expected Results: I just registered 15 seconds ago on the same computer in the
same up2date session -- why should I be given the opportunity to click Forward
and register again? Either disable Back at the channel list screen, or make the
final reg screen's Forward button do something different (no re-registration)
the second time around.

Comment 1 Adrian Likins 2002-08-21 18:36:56 UTC
fixed in 2.9.50, dup of 72119

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 72119 ***


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.