Bug 866305 - RFE: [WebTrans] provide opportunity to save current work if concurrent editing is detected
RFE: [WebTrans] provide opportunity to save current work if concurrent editin...
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Product: Zanata
Classification: Community
Component: Usability (Show other bugs)
development
Unspecified Unspecified
unspecified Severity unspecified
: ---
: 2.0
Assigned To: Patrick Huang
Ding-Yi Chen
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2012-10-15 00:48 EDT by Patrick Huang
Modified: 2012-11-07 01:19 EST (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version: 1.8.0-SNAPSHOT (20121022-1434)
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: 1
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2012-11-07 01:19:39 EST
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Patrick Huang 2012-10-15 00:48:20 EDT
Description of problem:
After detecting concurrent edit of one same row, if one user saves, other user will receive the latest change and the table row is refreshed to new value. If the user has already edited the content, his work will be lost.


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
2.0 and below

How reproducible:
always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. two users edit same row
2. one user save his change
  
Actual results:
the other user will have a message saying "Concurrent edit detected. Reset value for current row. Your change will be lost." and his work has lost. 


Expected results:
user get to compare his work and the latest change and get a chance to fix the conflict.

Additional info:
Comment 1 Patrick Huang 2012-10-16 01:04:57 EDT
committed into master:
https://github.com/zanata/zanata/commit/55cb70aeca371aff6c536697ad4285e655306543
Comment 2 Ding-Yi Chen 2012-10-18 21:19:12 EDT
Tested with Zanata version 1.8.0-SNAPSHOT (20121019-0031).

The behavior works as exppected, however, the dialog title
"Concurrent edit detected, Reset value for current row. Your change will be lost." might scare the users as it does not direct user how to save their own message.

How about:

1. Concurrent edit detected and your translation will be discard unless you paste and save yours

or 

2. Someone else changed the translation. Paste your change or it will be discarded.

Reassigned
Comment 3 Patrick Huang 2012-10-21 22:01:03 EDT
committed into master:
https://github.com/zanata/zanata/commit/6c3f3d65936392e1ea710ebb48ff4de775fa94b4
Comment 4 Ding-Yi Chen 2012-10-22 01:25:38 EDT
VERIFIED with Zanata version 1.8.0-SNAPSHOT (20121022-1434)
Comment 5 Sean Flanigan 2012-11-07 01:19:39 EST
Fix released in Zanata 2.0.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.