Bug 9620 - pb with new users that existed before with gnome
Summary: pb with new users that existed before with gnome
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Linux
Classification: Retired
Component: gnome-linuxconf   
(Show other bugs)
Version: 6.1
Hardware: i386
OS: Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Nalin Dahyabhai
QA Contact:
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2000-02-21 03:38 UTC by corbard
Modified: 2008-05-01 15:37 UTC (History)
0 users

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2000-03-06 14:38:28 UTC
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description corbard 2000-02-21 03:38:40 UTC
Hi,
I'm working under the gnome environement.
I used linuxconf to delet an user and then I create the same user again
(same username). An other uid is assigned automatically and it seems
to lead to some pb when I lanch the gnome environement (blank frozen screen
after login). If I assign again the uid that the user had before (ie I do
not take the one assigned automatically) then it's ok. Sounds like the
gnome environement kept the association username-uid somewhere even after
the user being deleted.
Thanks,
Thierry.

Comment 1 Nalin Dahyabhai 2000-03-06 14:38:59 UTC
If you did not remove the account's data, then when you re-create the user, the
new user will get the same home directory the old user was using.  If their UIDs
are different, this will cause major problems for the new user.  Also check your
/tmp directory for subdirectories named "orbit-USER", which GNOME's CORBA
implementation uses for inter-process communication.

Comment 2 Nalin Dahyabhai 2000-07-12 20:07:11 UTC
Closed due to inactivity.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.