Bug 592093

Summary: Unauthenticated user can delete/create connection
Product: [Fedora] Fedora Reporter: Steve Grubb <sgrubb>
Component: virt-managerAssignee: Cole Robinson <crobinso>
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG QA Contact: Fedora Extras Quality Assurance <extras-qa>
Severity: medium Docs Contact:
Priority: low    
Version: 12CC: berrange, crobinso, hbrock, jforbes, virt-maint
Target Milestone: ---   
Target Release: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Fixed In Version: Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: Environment:
Last Closed: 2010-05-13 21:36:00 UTC Type: ---
Regression: --- Mount Type: ---
Documentation: --- CRM:
Verified Versions: Category: ---
oVirt Team: --- RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---

Description Steve Grubb 2010-05-13 20:08:36 UTC
Description of problem:
If the user slides the authentication window out of the way, they can add or delete connections.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
virt-manager-0.8.2-3.fc12.noarch

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Start virt-manager
2. Move authentication window out of the way
3. Right click on kvm connection and select delete
4. Click on the File | Add Connection menu item
5. Add a connection to a Xen system
  
Expected results:
Unauthenticated user should not be able to do anything.

Comment 1 Cole Robinson 2010-05-13 21:36:00 UTC
What is being authenticated is the actual libvirt communication channel, not virt-manager itself. You can cancel the polkit dialog and change virt-manager preferences at will, since they belong to the user running the app. Creating or deleting a connection just makes virt-manager forget about it, it doesn't have any effect on libvirt or vms.