Bug 592093 - Unauthenticated user can delete/create connection
Summary: Unauthenticated user can delete/create connection
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: virt-manager (Show other bugs)
(Show other bugs)
Version: 12
Hardware: All Linux
low
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Cole Robinson
QA Contact: Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2010-05-13 20:08 UTC by Steve Grubb
Modified: 2010-05-13 21:36 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2010-05-13 21:36:00 UTC
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Steve Grubb 2010-05-13 20:08:36 UTC
Description of problem:
If the user slides the authentication window out of the way, they can add or delete connections.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
virt-manager-0.8.2-3.fc12.noarch

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Start virt-manager
2. Move authentication window out of the way
3. Right click on kvm connection and select delete
4. Click on the File | Add Connection menu item
5. Add a connection to a Xen system
  
Expected results:
Unauthenticated user should not be able to do anything.

Comment 1 Cole Robinson 2010-05-13 21:36:00 UTC
What is being authenticated is the actual libvirt communication channel, not virt-manager itself. You can cancel the polkit dialog and change virt-manager preferences at will, since they belong to the user running the app. Creating or deleting a connection just makes virt-manager forget about it, it doesn't have any effect on libvirt or vms.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.