Bug 102636 - User manager deletes default "users" group when removing a user
User manager deletes default "users" group when removing a user
Product: Red Hat Linux
Classification: Retired
Component: redhat-config-users (Show other bugs)
i386 Linux
medium Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Brent Fox
Depends On:
  Show dependency treegraph
Reported: 2003-08-19 03:23 EDT by Ari Stern
Modified: 2007-04-18 12:56 EDT (History)
0 users

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Last Closed: 2003-10-13 21:14:15 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---

Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Ari Stern 2003-08-19 03:23:04 EDT
From Bugzilla Helper:
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030703

Description of problem:
When there is only one user in the "users" group, deleting this user with
redhat-config-users deletes the "users" group as well.  If I subsequently try to
add a new user without a private group (which would normally default to the
now-missing "users" group), the component hangs.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

How reproducible:

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Setup: have only one user in the "users" group.
2. Click "Delete" to remove user.

Actual Results:  In addition to removing the user, the "users" group is now gone.

Expected Results:  The user should be removed, but the "users" group should
remain (even if it has no members).

Additional info:
Comment 1 Brent Fox 2003-10-13 21:14:15 EDT
I can't remember the exact bug number but this is a dupe of an older bug that
has since been fixed.  The program will no longer automatically delete system

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.