Bug 1043018 - Remove 'Save network configuration' action from toolbar [NEEDINFO]
Summary: Remove 'Save network configuration' action from toolbar
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Alias: None
Product: oVirt
Classification: Retired
Component: ovirt-engine-webadmin
Version: 3.3
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
unspecified
Target Milestone: ---
: 3.5.0
Assignee: Moti Asayag
QA Contact: bugs@ovirt.org
URL:
Whiteboard: network
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2013-12-13 18:50 UTC by mrao
Modified: 2016-02-10 19:38 UTC (History)
11 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2014-02-25 08:36:03 UTC
oVirt Team: Network
masayag: needinfo? (mrao)


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description mrao 2013-12-13 18:50:50 UTC
Description of problem: On Hosts> Network interfaces, there is an action called 'Save network configuration' which is always disabled. Inside the setup networks dialog, there is a save network configuration checkbox that seems to be the replacement for this action button. This checkbox is available on the Networks> Hosts > Setup Host networks dialog as well and the button is missing there. Since this is the same functionality seen from different ends, they need to be consistent.


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1.
2.
3.

Actual results:


Expected results:


Additional info:

Comment 1 Itamar Heim 2014-01-12 08:42:33 UTC
setting target release to current version for consideration and review. please do not push non-RFE bugs to an undefined target release to make sure bugs are reviewed for relevancy, fix, closure, etc.

Comment 2 Moti Asayag 2014-01-15 20:37:34 UTC
(In reply to mrao from comment #0)
> Description of problem: On Hosts> Network interfaces, there is an action
> called 'Save network configuration' which is always disabled. 

This is not entirely correct. If you don't check the "save network configuration" checkbox from within the setup networks dialog, this button will be enabled, indicating current configuration was not persisted on vdsm.

If we decide to remove that button, the default of that checkbox in the setup networks dialog should be checked. That way the user will know that by unchecking it, the changes will not be saved.

Also, without this button, there will be no indication in the host interfaces sub-tab whether the changes were saved or not. So, what should be the indicator of the configuration state (saved or not)? 


> Inside the
> setup networks dialog, there is a save network configuration checkbox that
> seems to be the replacement for this action button. This checkbox is
> available on the Networks> Hosts > Setup Host networks dialog as well and
> the button is missing there. Since this is the same functionality seen from
> different ends, they need to be consistent.
>

Comment 3 Dan Kenigsberg 2014-01-16 10:56:24 UTC
We should discuss this on list, but I think that with setupNetwork replacing individual addNetworks, users no longer need the Save button. Engine could perform the save automatically whenever it sees a host in a "dirty" state.

The button is still required on clusterLevels that expose addNetwork/delNetwork. There, the auto-save suggested above should not happen.

Comment 4 Moti Asayag 2014-02-25 08:36:03 UTC
Based on my comment #2 which explain the necessity of this button, and due to not receiving further inputs from the reporter - this bug is being closed.

If wishes to modify the host networking behaviour, either start a discussion on list.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.