Bug 1124567 - Australia/Lord Howe timezone does not change its abbreviation text from LHST to LHDT
Summary: Australia/Lord Howe timezone does not change its abbreviation text from LHST ...
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6
Classification: Red Hat
Component: tzdata
Version: 6.4
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: rc
: ---
Assignee: Patsy Franklin
QA Contact: qe-baseos-daemons
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-07-29 20:17 UTC by jstephen
Modified: 2018-12-09 18:15 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2014-11-23 19:19:50 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description jstephen 2014-07-29 20:17:37 UTC
Description of problem:
With package tzdata-2014e-1.el6.noarch it appears that the Australia/Lord Howe timezone does not change its abbreviation text from LHST to LHDT when entering/leaving daylight savings time.  According to http://www.timeanddate.com this should be what happens.

According to the zdump output:
# zdump -v Australia/Lord_Howe | grep 2014
Australia/Lord_Howe  Sat Apr  5 14:59:59 2014 UTC = Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 2014 LHST isdst=1 gmtoff=39600
Australia/Lord_Howe  Sat Apr  5 15:00:00 2014 UTC = Sun Apr  6 01:30:00 2014 LHST isdst=0 gmtoff=37800
Australia/Lord_Howe  Sat Oct  4 15:29:59 2014 UTC = Sun Oct  5 01:59:59 2014 LHST isdst=0 gmtoff=37800
Australia/Lord_Howe  Sat Oct  4 15:30:00 2014 UTC = Sun Oct  5 02:30:00 2014 LHST isdst=1 gmtoff=39600

It seems to just be not changing the label when the isdst bit is set.  Everything else in regards to the functionality of the timezone appears to be working correctly.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
tzdata-2014e-1.el6

How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Set timezone to Australia/Lord Howe, attempt to use LHDT
2. 
# export TZ="Australia/Lord_Howe"
# date --set="Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 2014"; date --utc
Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 LHST 2014
Sat Apr  5 15:29:59 UTC 2014

and a few seconds later:

# date; date --utc
Sun Apr  6 02:00:33 LHST 2014
Sat Apr  5 15:30:33 UTC 2014

Actual results:
LHST is used during daylight and non-daylight savings time

Expected results:
LHDT should exist for the DST portion of the Lord Howe year

Additional info:

The confusion lies in that the time Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 2014 is ambiguous Since that time occurs once during LHDT and once during LHST).  This operation above is fine (defaulting to standard time), but outside of resorting to UTC time, there is no way to set to 1:59:59 LHDT explicitly.  I believe that this is again in reference to the zdump.
# date --set="Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 2014 LHST"
Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 LHST 2014
# date --set="Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 2014 LHDT"
date: invalid date `Sun Apr  6 01:59:59 2014 LHDT'

This is in contrast to something like CST and CDT in Chicago where I have the ability to specify CDT or CST which correspond to different times.

export TZ="America/Chicago"
# date --set="Sun Nov  2 01:59:59 2014 CDT"; date --utc
Sun Nov  2 01:59:59 CDT 2014
Sun Nov  2 06:59:59 UTC 2014
# date; date --utc
Sun Nov  2 01:00:05 CST 2014
Sun Nov  2 07:00:05 UTC 2014

vs

# date --set="Sun Nov  2 01:59:59 2014 CST"; date --utc
Sun Nov  2 01:59:59 CST 2014
Sun Nov  2 07:59:59 UTC 2014
# date; date --utc
Sun Nov  2 02:00:03 CST 2014
Sun Nov  2 08:00:03 UTC 2014

Also, if set the time without the label I get
# date --set="Sun Nov  2 01:59:59 2014"; date --utc
Sun Nov  2 01:59:59 CDT 2014
Sun Nov  2 06:59:59 UTC 2014
Which is the dst time (in contrast to the standard time set in the LHST case)


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.