Bug 1126053 - content deployment version history is overridden after update
Summary: content deployment version history is overridden after update
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: JBoss Operations Network
Classification: JBoss
Component: Content
Version: JON 3.3.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
high
Target Milestone: ER03
: JON 3.3.0
Assignee: RHQ Project Maintainer
QA Contact: Mike Foley
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2014-08-01 17:42 UTC by Armine Hovsepyan
Modified: 2015-09-03 00:03 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2014-09-05 14:14:08 UTC
Type: Bug


Attachments (Terms of Use)
before-update-history (228.65 KB, image/png)
2014-08-01 17:42 UTC, Armine Hovsepyan
no flags Details
deploy-new-version (186.94 KB, image/png)
2014-08-01 17:42 UTC, Armine Hovsepyan
no flags Details
version-after-update (236.14 KB, image/png)
2014-08-01 17:43 UTC, Armine Hovsepyan
no flags Details
deploy-content-history (173.49 KB, application/octet-stream)
2014-09-10 15:49 UTC, Armine Hovsepyan
no flags Details

Description Armine Hovsepyan 2014-08-01 17:42:01 UTC
Created attachment 923381 [details]
before-update-history

Description of problem:
content deployment version history is overridden after update  

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
jon 3.3 DR1

How reproducible:
always

Steps to Reproduce:
1.  Start JBoss EAP 6.1 standalone server.
2.  Start JBoss ON 3.2 system.
3.  Import JBoss EAP server into inventory.
4.  Configure connection settings for newly imported resource.
5.  Deploy jboss-as-helloworld.war to JBoss EAP server.
6.  Navigate to the content page of the jboss-as-helloworld.war resource.
7.  Select the new tab.
8.  Upload a new version of helloworld.war
9.  Install uploaded war
10. Navigate to history
11. repeate steps 8-11

Actual results:
content deployment version history is overridden after update  

Expected results:
content deployment version history is NOT overridden after update, history of all versions is kept

Additional info:
screen-shots attached

Comment 1 Armine Hovsepyan 2014-08-01 17:42:32 UTC
Created attachment 923382 [details]
deploy-new-version

Comment 2 Armine Hovsepyan 2014-08-01 17:43:08 UTC
Created attachment 923383 [details]
version-after-update

Comment 3 Stefan Negrea 2014-09-05 14:14:08 UTC
By repeating steps 8 through 10 without changing the content you are basically reinstalling the same content over and over again. The version history keeps track of actual content deployed, which is the same in your case (even though you specified a different version at install time). 

The content system computes a hash for the entire content of a package. This hash is the actual version of the package. The version displayed in the UI is just a display version. If users upload the same content but with different file name, the content system will just identify it as the same package and will update the name to the latest. 

What you are seeing is a known limitation of the content system due to the move to strong hash versioning of packages.


A correct teste case would be to repeat the steps above but with different packages each time. For example, add a picture or a text file to the archive each time. The history should reflect that different packages were installed and the different packages will be all listed in the history.

Comment 4 Armine Hovsepyan 2014-09-10 15:49:03 UTC
Created attachment 936221 [details]
deploy-content-history


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.