Red Hat Bugzilla – Bug 115332
smbpasswd removes all user descriptions from smbpasswd file if user is deleted
Last modified: 2007-11-30 17:07:00 EST
Description of problem:
When migrating from /etc/passwd to a smbpasswd file using
mksmbpasswd.sh, it places the user description as the last slot on
each line. When performing other actions such as enabling/disabling,
changing passwords, etc. the values are left untouched. When you
delete a user using the -x <username> switch, it removes the user
description from each line. You can see this by viewing the smbpasswd
file in a text editor. Funny though if you do a pdbedit -v <username>
it still shows the desc so it must be pulling it from /etc/passwd if
the desc field in smbpasswd is blank.
Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
This seem to be a very old bug, but I spotted it only today.
If mksmbpasswd.sh does that, it is wrong, the smbpasswd file syntax has no place
for the user description.
This bug is filed against RHEL 3, which is in maintenance phase.
During the maintenance phase, only security errata and select mission
critical bug fixes will be released for enterprise products. Since
this bug does not meet that criteria, it is now being closed.
For more information of the RHEL errata support policy, please visit:
If you feel this bug is indeed mission critical, please contact your
support representative. You may be asked to provide detailed
information on how this bug is affecting you.