Red Hat Bugzilla – Bug 119513
User deletion should not silently remove groups
Last modified: 2007-11-30 17:10:39 EST
Description of problem:
Removing a user will remove also remove their group if they are the
only member of that group. This should either be disabled or the user
should be prompted if they want this to happen. Whilst it makes sense
for "private groups", it does not necessarily make sense for standard
Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create a group "transient"
2. Create a user (non-private group) and change their primary group to
3. Delete the user.
The group "transient" goes too.
The group stays.
The group "transient" will only be removed if it has a gid greater
than 499. System groups are not removed when a user gets deleted.
Only groups with gids greater than 499 will get automatically removed.
Closing as 'notabug'.