Bug 126756 - deleting users home directory leaves user files in /tmp
deleting users home directory leaves user files in /tmp
Status: CLOSED ERRATA
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: system-config-users (Show other bugs)
2
All Linux
medium Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Nils Philippsen
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2004-06-25 17:16 EDT by Need Real Name
Modified: 2007-11-30 17:10 EST (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2004-11-23 11:47:21 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Need Real Name 2004-06-25 17:16:59 EDT
From Bugzilla Helper:
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040623

Description of problem:
Deleting an existing user from the Users and Groups System
Settings tool doesn't purge /tmp of the users gnome related
directories. This causes major problems if the same username
is recreated later and assigned a different user and group id number.
The resulting new user account will be unable to login using the
gnome desktop until the old accounts directories in /tmp are
deleted (gconfd-olduser, orbit-olduser, etc).

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. within the Users and Account System Settings tool create a
useraccount named 'olduser'
2. login to the gnome desktop using the 'olduser' account
3. logout of the gnome desktop and login with another account.
4.  within the Users and Account System Settings tool delete the
useraccount named 'olduser' as well as its home directory
5. within the Users and Account System Settings tool recreate the
'olduser' user account but assign it a different user id number than
before
6. attempt to login to the gnome desktop using the recreated 'olduser'
account
    

Actual Results:  The gnome desktop is unable to properly load for the
recreated
'olduser' account with the new user id. This is because stale
gnome related directories are left in /tmp. These old gnome 
related directories in /tmp should be deleted have been deleted
by the Users and Group tool when it deleted the user account
originally.

Expected Results:  I expected that a newly recreated 'olduser' account
with a 
different user id to work without hunting for old gnome related
directories in /tmp.

Additional info:
Comment 1 Nils Philippsen 2004-11-23 11:47:21 EST
fixed in system-config-users-1.2.27 and later
Comment 2 Tim Powers 2005-05-19 17:39:58 EDT
An advisory has been issued which should help the problem
described in this bug report. This report is therefore being
closed with a resolution of ERRATA. For more information
on the solution and/or where to find the updated files,
please follow the link below. You may reopen this bug report
if the solution does not work for you.

http://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHBA-2005-440.html

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.