Bug 1275137 - Last button labelled misleading
Last button labelled misleading
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda (Show other bugs)
23
Unspecified Unspecified
unspecified Severity unspecified
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Anaconda Maintenance Team
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2015-10-26 00:07 EDT by Donald Harper
Modified: 2015-10-26 09:54 EDT (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2015-10-26 09:54:16 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Donald Harper 2015-10-26 00:07:01 EDT
Description of problem:
Last button displayed during anaconda is marked 'Quit', which while technically correct, might lead less experience users to think there was an error.  Possibly changing the verbiage to 'Finish Installation' or 'Finish and Reboot' would be better.



Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
23.19.4-1.fc23.x6_64

How reproducible:
every time

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Install from live media
2. click through
3. See the button

Actual results:
it says 'quit'

Expected results:
'Finish and restart'

Additional info:
Comment 1 David Shea 2015-10-26 09:54:16 EDT
In the live install, "Quit" is literally all that button is going to do. "Finish installation" implies that anaconda is going to take further action to finalize the install, which is not true because it just did that. It is not going to reboot, because you are still able to use the live environment after anaconda has completed, and it is up to you to reboot. Given that the button is actually factually correct in doing what it says it's going to do, that it follows the Gtk/GNOME visual cues of indicating what is the next thing to click (https://developer.gnome.org/Buttons/), and that there's a message right under the button letting you know that the install has finished successfully and that you should reboot your system to start using it, I don't see any need to change this button.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.