Bug 1314271 - [RFE] When wiping old jobs keep XMLs or have a message on submit page
[RFE] When wiping old jobs keep XMLs or have a message on submit page
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Product: Beaker
Classification: Community
Component: general (Show other bugs)
develop
Unspecified Unspecified
medium Severity unspecified (vote)
: 23.0
: ---
Assigned To: matt jia
tools-bugs
Triaged
: Patch, UserExperience
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2016-03-03 05:16 EST by Marian Csontos
Modified: 2016-07-07 19:11 EDT (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2016-07-07 19:11:07 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Marian Csontos 2016-03-03 05:16:55 EST
Some people, especially developers who are not using Beaker regularly, are not aware the jobs are completely wiped after some period.
/me had just heard one venting his frustration.

It is perfectly OK to wipe results and files.

But preserve the job definitions, please. Or at least have a warning on the job submit page.
Comment 1 Roman Joost 2016-03-13 23:30:47 EDT
Dear Marian,

thanks for the report. With the implementation of the new job page design there is potential for creating a new (readonly-) view providing information of the old job and add the ability to clone it.

Unfortunately the bkr client lets you fetch the job XML for a deleted job for cloning but it is somewhat inconsistent with the web UI.
Comment 2 matt jia 2016-03-31 00:07:39 EDT
(In reply to Roman Joost from comment #1)
> Dear Marian,
> 
> thanks for the report. With the implementation of the new job page design
> there is potential for creating a new (readonly-) view providing information
> of the old job and add the ability to clone it.
> 
> Unfortunately the bkr client lets you fetch the job XML for a deleted job
> for cloning but it is somewhat inconsistent with the web UI.

This has already been implemented on the new job page. The deleted jobs can be viewed and cloned, including the recipe sets.
Comment 3 Dan Callaghan 2016-03-31 03:32:43 EDT
(In reply to matt jia from comment #2)

Right, but currently the new job page gives no indication that you are looking at a deleted recipe (and hence it is missing all its results).

For this bug we should probably improve the new job page and new recipe page to make it clear if you are looking at a deleted job -- for example, an alert-error at the top saying so. Or something like that but nicer. It should show all the tasks, settings, etc... but it shouldn't offer to show you any results, because there will be none.

So people can still see what was in the job as it was originally submitted, and clone it as well.
Comment 4 Dan Callaghan 2016-03-31 03:35:30 EDT
May be worth tackling bug 1322700 at the same time, although there is nothing tying them together.
Comment 5 matt jia 2016-04-13 01:46:59 EDT
I have come out a UI for deleted jobs/recipes:

   https://gerrit.beaker-project.org/#/c/4804/
Comment 8 Dan Callaghan 2016-07-07 19:11:07 EDT
Beaker 23.0 has been released.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.