Bug 1338832 - Notify users to run `pre-upgrade script` before performing actual upgrade/migration [NEEDINFO]
Summary: Notify users to run `pre-upgrade script` before performing actual upgrade/mig...
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Satellite
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Upgrades
Version: 6.2.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
high vote
Target Milestone: Unspecified
Assignee: David Davis
QA Contact: Katello QA List
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On: 1315269
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2016-05-23 13:49 UTC by Sachin Ghai
Modified: 2019-04-01 20:27 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: If docs needed, set a value
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2016-06-08 14:41:14 UTC
Target Upstream Version:
sthirugn: needinfo? (ddavis)


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Sachin Ghai 2016-05-23 13:49:59 UTC
Description of problem:
We should raise a warning/notification to users with some statements like below before performing actual migration.

#satellite-installer --scenario satellite --upgrade
Please run `pre-upgrade script` from <location> to know what all hosts can be deleted before running actual migration. This will generate a CSV file including all affected host. You can tweak/fix all listed hosts manually.

Have you run this script before (y/N) ?

On 'Y', upgrade should proceed other it should exit.


Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Upgrade Sat6.1 -> sat6.2 

How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1.
2.
3.

Actual results:


Expected results:
#satellite-installer --scenario satellite --upgrade
Please run `pre-upgrade script` from <location> to know what all hosts can be deleted before running actual migration. This will generate a CSV file including all affected host. You can tweak/fix all listed hosts manually.

Have you run this script before (y/N) ?

On 'Y', upgrade should proceed other it should exit.




Additional info:

Comment 2 Justin Sherrill 2016-05-23 16:08:02 UTC
This is a good idea and I would be happy for it to be in the installer however if a user has already yum updated everything on the box (which we tell him to do) he won't have the opportunity to run the script nor resolve any duplicate content hosts themselves as he's already partially upgraded.

Comment 4 Sachin Ghai 2016-05-25 09:25:42 UTC
Yeah, that's exactly came into my mind while filing this issue, and have already communicated to few QE folks about this situation. But we should come up with some way to notify users explicitly. Let's say if a user forgot or missed out to run the pre-upgrade script before actual migration.

Or can we setup something if user can simply downgrade the packages at this point ?

Comment 5 David Davis 2016-06-08 14:41:14 UTC
Unfortunately there is no way to downgrade. Users who have gotten this far can't go back and run the pre-upgrade script that we're shipping with 6.1 so a warning wouldn't really be helpful sadly.

Comment 6 sthirugn@redhat.com 2016-06-08 14:52:02 UTC
I do not understand Comment 5.  This bug is asking for a confirmation that the users actually ran the pre-upgrade script, something like:

# satellite-installer --scenario satellite --upgrade

Have you run this script before (y/N) ?

On 'Y', upgrade should proceed other it should exit.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.