Bug 1340213 - Puppet environment is empty when provisioning host from hostgroup
Summary: Puppet environment is empty when provisioning host from hostgroup
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Satellite
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Provisioning
Version: 6.2.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
unspecified
medium
Target Milestone: Unspecified
Assignee: satellite6-bugs
QA Contact: Katello QA List
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2016-05-26 17:57 UTC by Fred van Zwieten
Modified: 2018-08-02 21:00 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: If docs needed, set a value
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2018-08-02 21:00:24 UTC
Target Upstream Version:


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Fred van Zwieten 2016-05-26 17:57:06 UTC
Description of problem:
When creating a new host, the puppet environment is empty, although the host is based on a hostgroup that does have the puppet envionment defined. Klicking the "reset puppet environment to match selected content view" also does not populate this field.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
6.2 GA snap 13.1

How reproducible:


Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create hostgroup with puppet environment
2. Create host based on the hostgroup
3. Look at puppet environment field

Actual results:
empty

Expected results:
inherited from hostgroup

Additional info:

Comment 1 Bryan Kearney 2016-07-26 18:57:21 UTC
Moving 6.2 bugs out to sat-backlog.

Comment 3 Lukas Zapletal 2017-02-24 13:49:28 UTC
There were some improvements in this area, but this should be set to Puppet component for triage.

If this is about discovery, then we solved this by Quick provision modal dialog that is coming into Satellite NEXT. That workarounds that, the form is still broken a little bit, we need more refactoring (wizard perhaps) in order to fix this.

Comment 4 Bryan Kearney 2018-08-02 21:00:24 UTC
Thank you for your interest in Satellite 6. We have evaluated this request, and we do not expect this to be implemented in the product in the forseeable future. We are therefore closing this out as WONTFIX. If you have any concerns about this, please feel free to contact Rich Jerrido or Bryan Kearney. Thank you.


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.