Bug 1351157
| Summary: | [RFE] [UI] - disable 'Save Network Configuration' checkbox from setup networks ui dialog | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Product: | [oVirt] ovirt-engine | Reporter: | Michael Burman <mburman> | ||||
| Component: | BLL.Network | Assignee: | eraviv | ||||
| Status: | CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE | QA Contact: | Michael Burman <mburman> | ||||
| Severity: | medium | Docs Contact: | |||||
| Priority: | low | ||||||
| Version: | 4.0.0 | CC: | bugs, danken, eraviv, mburman, myakove | ||||
| Target Milestone: | ovirt-4.3.0 | Keywords: | FutureFeature | ||||
| Target Release: | --- | Flags: | ylavi:
ovirt-4.3?
mburman: testing_plan_complete- mburman: planning_ack? danken: devel_ack+ mburman: testing_ack+ |
||||
| Hardware: | x86_64 | ||||||
| OS: | Linux | ||||||
| Whiteboard: | |||||||
| Fixed In Version: | ovirt-engine-4.3.0_rc | Doc Type: | If docs needed, set a value | ||||
| Doc Text: |
To improve dependability of setting up networks, saving the configuration will always be carried out upon completion of the setup. Therefore the checkbox is left intact to indicate to the user that saving is being done, but it is disabled and always selected.
|
Story Points: | --- | ||||
| Clone Of: | Environment: | ||||||
| Last Closed: | 2019-02-13 07:46:37 UTC | Type: | Bug | ||||
| Regression: | --- | Mount Type: | --- | ||||
| Documentation: | --- | CRM: | |||||
| Verified Versions: | Category: | --- | |||||
| oVirt Team: | Network | RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host: | |||||
| Cloudforms Team: | --- | Target Upstream Version: | |||||
| Embargoed: | |||||||
| Attachments: |
|
||||||
Meni, can you add the REST action for committing host networks? url:/ovirt-engine/api/hosts/<host_id>/commitnetconfig body:<action>
<async>false</async>
<grace_period>
<expiry>10</expiry>
</grace_period>
</action>
Dan - sounds like a nit to me - even checking it by default and just hiding it? (In reply to Yaniv Kaul from comment #3) > Dan - sounds like a nit to me - even checking it by default and just hiding > it? Yes, this is the plan. previously the message was: "Changes done to the Networking configuration are temporary until explicitly saved. Check the check-box to make the changes persistent." the new suggested message is: "Changes done to the Networking configuration are temporary until explicitly saved. The checked check-box indicates that changes will be made persistent automatically." The first sentence has been left as is because the save can fail on the host, so we still need to alert the user about it via this sentence. Michael, can you ack this phrasing or make another suggestion? Thanks (In reply to eraviv from comment #5) > previously the message was: "Changes done to the Networking configuration > are temporary until explicitly saved. Check the check-box to make the > changes persistent." > > the new suggested message is: "Changes done to the Networking configuration > are temporary until explicitly saved. The checked check-box indicates that > changes will be made persistent automatically." > > The first sentence has been left as is because the save can fail on the > host, so we still need to alert the user about it via this sentence. > > Michael, can you ack this phrasing or make another suggestion? > > Thanks ACK, looks good to me. Greyed out can be just the color but not the functionality. In the UI - it will greyed out (==disabled) Just sound better IMO, but feel free to revert... Hi Eitan, Why this is still in post? Verified on - 4.3.0-0.4.master.20181212102822.git1eda278.el7 This bugzilla is included in oVirt 4.3.0 release, published on February 4th 2019. Since the problem described in this bug report should be resolved in oVirt 4.3.0 release, it has been closed with a resolution of CURRENT RELEASE. If the solution does not work for you, please open a new bug report. |
Created attachment 1173814 [details] screenshot Description of problem: [UI] - Remove 'Save Network Configuration' checkbox and button from setup networks ui dialog We need to remove the 'Save network configuration' checkbox in the setup networks dialog and the button under 'Hosts' main tab > 'Network Interfaces' sub tab. We don't want to leave this option of not saving the networks any more. Engine should always persist networks once attached to host via setup networks dialog. Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable): 4.0.0.6-0.1.el7ev