Bug 1374335 - Can't save new GCE compute resource
Summary: Can't save new GCE compute resource
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Satellite
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Compute Resources - GCE
Version: 6.2.0
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
Target Milestone: Unspecified
Assignee: satellite6-bugs
QA Contact: Katello QA List
Depends On:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
Reported: 2016-09-08 13:10 UTC by Maxim Burgerhout
Modified: 2021-03-11 14:41 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: If docs needed, set a value
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Last Closed: 2018-09-04 18:01:07 UTC
Target Upstream Version:

Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Maxim Burgerhout 2016-09-08 13:10:47 UTC
Description of problem:
I'm trying to setup a compute resource on GCE, but cannot save it.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

How reproducible:

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Setup service account etc. on GCE side
2. Fill in the form on Satellite 6.2.1

Actual results:
Form comes back with all fields except for 'client email' still filled. Error in foreman/production.log:

2016-09-08 08:58:18 [app] [I]   Parameters: {"utf8"=>"✓", "authenticity_token"=>"C7HfYbh+CRQzI2NQAGshmU49IayKymMf4Jd94KW7/fY=", "compute_resource"=>{"name"=>"GCE", "provider"=>"GCE", "description"=>"", "project"=>"automationdemo-142810", "email"=>"579721332491-compute.com", "key_path"=>"/etc/foreman/gce.p12", "zone"=>"europe-west1-b", "location_ids"=>[""], "organization_ids"=>[""]}, "commit"=>"Submit"}
2016-09-08 08:58:18 [app] [I] Failed to save: URL can't be blank

Expected results:
Compute resource is saved.

Additional info:
Connection test works fine.

Also, when I add the following code to /usr/share/foreman/app/views/compute_resources/form/_gce.erb, I can save the resource fine:

<%= text_f f, :url, :label => _("URL"), :help_inline => _('Quick fix'), :class => 'col-md-8' %>

Comment 2 Abhishek Sahni 2018-01-25 20:32:33 UTC
Correct file path for testing workaround is,


Comment 3 Bryan Kearney 2018-09-04 18:01:07 UTC
Thank you for your interest in Satellite 6. We have evaluated this request, and we do not expect this to be implemented in the product in the foreseeable future. We are therefore closing this out as WONTFIX. If you have any concerns about this, please feel free to contact Rich Jerrido or Bryan Kearney. Thank you.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.