Bug 1417726 - Hammer params for ordering are inconsistent
Summary: Hammer params for ordering are inconsistent
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Satellite
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Hammer
Version: 6.2.3
Hardware: Unspecified
OS: Unspecified
Target Milestone: Unspecified
Assignee: satellite6-bugs
QA Contact: Katello QA List
Depends On:
Blocks: 1309791
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
Reported: 2017-01-30 18:41 UTC by Tomas Strachota
Modified: 2018-09-04 17:43 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: If docs needed, set a value
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Last Closed: 2018-09-04 17:43:21 UTC
Target Upstream Version:

Attachments (Terms of Use)

System ID Private Priority Status Summary Last Updated
Foreman Issue Tracker 18340 0 None None None 2017-02-01 12:48:51 UTC
Red Hat Bugzilla 1138262 0 unspecified CLOSED API sort hash is not working, but sort_by and sort_order are working but undocumented 2021-02-22 00:41:40 UTC

Internal Links: 1138262

Description Tomas Strachota 2017-01-30 18:41:57 UTC
Description of problem:

Foreman part of hammer cli uses parameter --order="<FIELD_NAME> <DIRECTION>" for ordering results. Katello part uses two parameters --by="<FIELD_NAME>" and --order="<DIRECTION>"

For example compare
> hammer architecture list -h
> hammer repository list -h

Apart from the above there are additional issues:
* in Katello commands --by and --order seem to have no effect (probably related to bz 1138262)
* in Foreman commands there's no validation of the direction and API silently falls back to 'ASC'

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Satellite 6.2.3

Actual results:
There are various parameters for ordering results, some of the dysfunctional.

Expected results:
Hammer should provide unified commands for ordering fields. Probably only --order should be used.

Comment 2 Tomas Strachota 2017-02-01 12:48:48 UTC
Created redmine issue http://projects.theforeman.org/issues/18340 from this bug

Comment 3 Bryan Kearney 2018-09-04 17:43:21 UTC
Thank you for your interest in Satellite 6. We have evaluated this request, and we do not expect this to be implemented in the product in the foreseeable future. We are therefore closing this out as WONTFIX. If you have any concerns about this, please feel free to contact Rich Jerrido or Bryan Kearney. Thank you.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.