Bug 1421418 - [RFE] There should be warning message/notification when puppet module with wrong code syntax is uploaded in repository.
Summary: [RFE] There should be warning message/notification when puppet module with w...
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Satellite
Classification: Red Hat
Component: Content Management
Version: 6.2.4
Hardware: All
OS: All
Target Milestone: Unspecified
Assignee: satellite6-bugs
QA Contact: Katello QA List
Depends On:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
Reported: 2017-02-12 08:17 UTC by Ranjan Kumar
Modified: 2020-01-17 16:23 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: If docs needed, set a value
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Last Closed: 2017-10-05 17:25:46 UTC
Target Upstream Version:

Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Ranjan Kumar 2017-02-12 08:17:39 UTC
Description of problem: Puppet module uploaded with incorrect syntax in code is not listed in host -> puppet classes tab. There must be notification message or warning when uploading puppet module with incorrect code.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):6.2.4

How reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create a puppet module with incorrect code(like missing ',') in init.pp
2. Upload module to repository and publish content view.
3. Now edit host and try to apply puppet class but the puppet class is missing here. 

Actual results: Puppet class is missing

Expected results: There should be warning or notification that few puppet class are hidden due to incorrect syntax.

Additional info:

Comment 2 Michael Hrivnak 2017-02-15 22:46:53 UTC
I don't think Pulp is the right place to do linting or syntax checking on software artifacts. It should definitely do integrity checks when possible, like verifying checksums and sizes. But teaching Pulp how to evaluate Puppet code, Python code, or the domain-specific validity of any content type is far outside the scope of Pulp's role as a manager of repositories.

In other words, garbage-in-garbage-out.

I'm changing the component to Content Management in case someone has an idea of another part of Satellite that makes sense to evaluate and report on this kind of thing.

Maybe if the complaint is that the module is just missing from the Katello UI with no explanation, there's some way for an explanation to be reported?

Comment 3 Bryan Kearney 2017-10-05 17:25:46 UTC
Thank you for your interest in Satellite 6. We have evaluated this request, and we do not expect this to be implemented in product in the forseeable future. We are therefore closing this out as WONTFIX. If you have any concerns about this, please feel free to contact Rich Jerrido or Bryan Kearney. Thank you.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.