Bug 1464396 - Pool VMs console disconnect action revert to "lock screen" instead of "shutdown virtual machine"
Pool VMs console disconnect action revert to "lock screen" instead of "shutdo...
Status: NEW
Product: ovirt-engine
Classification: oVirt
Component: General (Show other bugs)
4.1.2.2
x86_64 Linux
high Severity high (vote)
: ovirt-4.2.0
: ---
Assigned To: bugs@ovirt.org
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2017-06-23 06:52 EDT by paul
Modified: 2017-09-04 15:41 EDT (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: If docs needed, set a value
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed:
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: Virt
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---
rule-engine: ovirt‑4.2+


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description paul 2017-06-23 06:52:39 EDT
Description of problem:
The vms in a pool should shutdown after console disconnect (recommended configuration). But after creating and using the vms a few times the console disconnect action is changed to "lock screen".

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:
varies a bit. Sometimes the change is already after the first initial run. Sometimes the vm needs a few cycles of start-up, console connect, console disconnect, shutdown. But after a while all vms in the pool have "lock screen" as console disconnect action.

Steps to Reproduce:
1.create pool
2.do initial runs vms
3.do few cycles of start-up, connect, disconnect, shutdown

Actual results:
in all vms the console disconnect action reverts to "lock screen" (greyed out)

Expected results:
all vms console disconnect actions should stay "shutdown virtual machine" (greyed out)

Additional info:
The console disconnect action is set to "shutdown virtual machine" in:
- original vm > console options
- template based on the original vm > console options
- Pool based on template > console options

I does not matter if I choose in Pool set-up the template(x) or "latest template"
Comment 1 paul 2017-06-26 09:00:40 EDT
Found out this happens when the machine is started as "stateless". It does not matter if this is done as an pre-started machine or as a machine started by user in the UserPortal.

This has the unwanted implication these vms are not available anymore in the pool for other users (even if the user logged out) because of "strict user checking". According to [1] strict user checking is recommended ("Disable strict checking with caution, because you can expose the previous user's session to the new user.")

[1] https://access.redhat.com/documentation/en-us/red_hat_virtualization/4.1/html/virtual_machine_management_guide/appe-reference_settings_in_administration_portal_and_user_portal_windows#sect-Explanation_of_Settings_in_the_New_Virtual_Machine_and_Edit_Virtual_Machine_Windows
Comment 2 Tomas Jelinek 2017-07-19 02:29:26 EDT
This actually happens also on normal stateless VMs (not only pooled ones).
Targeting 4.2

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.