Bug 174598 - dangerous default will wipe out user data
dangerous default will wipe out user data
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda (Show other bugs)
5
All Linux
medium Severity high
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Jeremy Katz
Mike McLean
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-11-30 11:59 EST by Alexandre Oliva
Modified: 2007-11-30 17:11 EST (History)
0 users

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2005-11-30 22:32:34 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Alexandre Oliva 2005-11-30 11:59:28 EST
From Bugzilla Helper:
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051118 Fedora/1.5-0.5.0.rc3 Firefox/1.5

Description of problem:
The default disk layout selection is to clear all linux filesystems, which places users' data at risk.  I believe we'd be better off with a safer default.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1.Start an interactive install

Actual Results:  The default is to clear all linux partitions

Expected Results:  It should preserve data by default

Additional info:
Comment 1 Jeremy Katz 2005-11-30 22:32:34 EST
Not doing this ends up causing almost all people to not be able to use
autopartitioning.  This is the way things have worked forever

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.