Fedora Account System
Red Hat Associate
Red Hat Customer
Description of problem: When installing Fedora 33 Workstation, the user experience is confusing when the installation is complete. After clicking "Finish Installation", the user is back in the live environment, but with no indication that they are still in the live environment. Before clicking "Finish Installation", there is a small note about rebooting, but nothing draws your attention to that note and it is very easy to miss. I never even noticed that note until I started writing this bug report. Most other distros have two options at the end of their installation: reboot or continue using the live environment. "Finish Installation" is just too vague, and doesn't clearly indicate to the user what happens after it's clicked. Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable): Fedora-Workstation-Live-x86_64-33-20200908.n.0.iso anaconda-33.25.2-1.fc33.x86_64 How reproducible: always Steps to Reproduce: 1. install Fedora 33 Workstation Actual results: the sole "Finish Installation" button is too vague and leads to user confusion Expected results: anaconda should ask the user if they want to reboot immediately or continue using the live environment Additional info: This isn't just something I've noticed personally. I've observed users be confused by this exact thing over and over again. And it's not just new users either, experienced users have the same issue.
This will not be resolved in the GTK UI, but we should resolve it at least in the WebUI. Closing as duplicate, as we have a new bug to track this issue in Web UI. *** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 2326672 ***