Bug 206418 - Cannot delete statuses which are not saved
Cannot delete statuses which are not saved
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: gaim (Show other bugs)
All Linux
medium Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Warren Togami
: Desktop
Depends On:
  Show dependency treegraph
Reported: 2006-09-14 05:40 EDT by Nicole Dai
Modified: 2007-11-30 17:11 EST (History)
6 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Last Closed: 2006-09-14 21:43:50 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---

Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Nicole Dai 2006-09-14 05:40:43 EDT
Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

How reproducible:

Steps to Reproduce:
1.Launch gaim and log in an account.
2.New status by clicking the status button at the buttom of the Buddy List window.
3.Enter Title and Message, select Status, Click Use.
Actual results:
As we did not click Save or Save&Use, the new added status was not saved in
'Saved Statuses' in which status can be modified or deleted. These new added
statuses always exist in the status list and no way to delete them.

Expected results:
In my understanding, if the status is created just by cliking Use (not Save or
Save&Use), it will not be listed in status list when quit GAIM and re-log in.

Additional info:
I am not sure if this is a bug or lack of functionality. Please clarify it. Thanks.
Comment 1 Luke Schierer 2006-09-14 09:38:10 EDT
You are correct, there is no way to _manually_ delete it.  It won't hang around
forever though.  Gaim technically saves every state you ever use.  Some of these
are what we call "saved" states, others are what we call "cached" states.  If
you don't click "save" or "save and use" it is a cached state.  Otherwise it is
a saved state.  The difference is as follows:  When a state is created, gaim
sets a date at which to delete it.  Each time the state is used, that date gets
pushed farther into the future.  The states are sorted with the state to be
removed furtherest into the future at the top, and the top 6 states are shown. 
So far so good.

Now, if when the date a state is to be removed is reached, if it is a "cached"
state, it will be removed.  If it is a "saved" state though, gaim will ignore
that field and not remove it, that field will only be used in saved states for
computing which 6 states to show.

The benefit to this is for people who don't quite get the whole saving state
thing, but still fall into that large category of users who really only use a
handlful of states.  For them, their states will never time out, because they'll
just keep selecting their cached states, and with time, they'll have 2 click
access to changing state instead of multi-click access, not because they set up
saved states, but because gaim just knows what states they use all the time anyway.

The other benefit to this is that if you set up a temporary complex state, but
then realize you need to drop into some other state for a short time (say you
need to go to lunch or something), you don't have to recreate that state when
you get back, it'll still be there. 

since you only see 6 states anyway, the idea was that this would have small cost
for those who don't fit into one of the groups described above, since their more
commonly used states, or more recently created ones, will outrank the cached
states fairly readily.
Comment 2 Mark Doliner 2006-09-14 12:23:12 EDT
In summary, it's a feature not a bug.  The status will be removed automatically
once it is no longer one of the 6 most recently used statuses.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.