This service will be undergoing maintenance at 00:00 UTC, 2016-09-28. It is expected to last about 1 hours
Bug 222051 - Combining reauthentication/deletion options in one luci display can cause user confusion (usability - post RHEL5 GA)
Combining reauthentication/deletion options in one luci display can cause use...
Status: CLOSED ERRATA
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5
Classification: Red Hat
Component: conga (Show other bugs)
5.0
All Linux
low Severity low
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Ryan McCabe
Corey Marthaler
: FutureFeature
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2007-01-09 15:26 EST by Len DiMaggio
Modified: 2009-04-16 18:58 EDT (History)
7 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version: RHSA-2007-0640
Doc Type: Enhancement
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2007-11-07 10:36:40 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:


Attachments (Terms of Use)
Screen shot showing the error raised (137.88 KB, image/png)
2007-01-09 15:26 EST, Len DiMaggio
no flags Details
Screen shot showing the button that the user should have pressed (121.20 KB, image/png)
2007-01-09 15:27 EST, Len DiMaggio
no flags Details

  None (edit)
Description Len DiMaggio 2007-01-09 15:26:10 EST
Description of problem:
Combining creation/deletion options in one luci display can cause user confusion
(usability - post RHEL5 GA)

The 'manage systems' display allows users to create/authenticate new storage
systems and delete existing clusters and storage systems. Depending on the
user's screen resolution and the number of clusters/storage systems defined, the
 button the user must press to perform a deletion may or may not be displayed
without scrolling. This can lead to the problem illustrated in the screen shot
attachments.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
luci-0.8-26.el5

How reproducible:
100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1. In screenshot #1, the user is attempting to delete a cluster definition. If
the cluster name is selected and the submit button is pressed, an error is
correctly raised that the user has not specified a host. This is because the
submit button is tied to the node creation/authentication action.
2. See screenshot #2 - the 'remove selected systems' button is what the user
should have pressed - but it was not visible until the user scrolled the display
down.
  
Actual results:
See the screenshots.

Expected results:
We should find a way to better separate the creation/deletion actions - or
disable a button until its corresponding data fields are filled in.

Additional info:

This is not a blocker or a problem that we should work on until after RHEL5 GA.
Comment 1 Len DiMaggio 2007-01-09 15:26:11 EST
Created attachment 145191 [details]
Screen shot showing the error raised
Comment 2 Len DiMaggio 2007-01-09 15:27:32 EST
Created attachment 145192 [details]
Screen shot showing the button that the user should have pressed
Comment 3 Kiersten (Kerri) Anderson 2007-04-23 13:05:06 EDT
Fixing Product Name.  Cluster Suite was merged into Enterprise Linux for version
5.0.
Comment 6 errata-xmlrpc 2007-11-07 10:36:40 EST
An advisory has been issued which should help the problem
described in this bug report. This report is therefore being
closed with a resolution of ERRATA. For more information
on the solution and/or where to find the updated files,
please follow the link below. You may reopen this bug report
if the solution does not work for you.

http://rhn.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2007-0640.html

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.