Bug 228639 - Dangerous default: Delete all linux partitions
Dangerous default: Delete all linux partitions
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda (Show other bugs)
All Linux
medium Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: David Cantrell
Depends On:
  Show dependency treegraph
Reported: 2007-02-13 23:16 EST by Greg Martyn
Modified: 2007-11-30 17:11 EST (History)
0 users

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Last Closed: 2007-02-14 10:41:22 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---

Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Greg Martyn 2007-02-13 23:16:49 EST
Description of problem:
Anaconda defaults to removing all existing linux partitions

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
Fedora Core 6

How reproducible:

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Boot from install DVD
2. When setting up partitions, "Remove linux partitions on selected drives and
create default layout" is selected, along with all my drives
Actual results:
I don't want to know

Expected results:
The default shouldn't be to delete all my data!
Offer to search for partitions that look like they are the root of a linux
filesystem (they contain /etc, /usr/bin, /home, /var, etc) and only format them.

Additional info:
Comment 1 David Cantrell 2007-02-14 10:41:22 EST
So we *do* search for existing Linux installations.  If we find an existing
Fedora installation, we offer you the option to upgrade whatever we found, or
install fresh.  If you select install fresh, you get to the screen you've mentioned.
Comment 2 Greg Martyn 2007-02-14 14:45:46 EST
But this is still a terrible default! I have multiple drives. I want to 
install fresh, but I don't want to lose all my other data.
Comment 3 David Cantrell 2007-02-15 10:45:54 EST
Then select Custom partitioning and your existing partitions will appear and you
can give them specific mount points.  Formatting is disabled by default on all
partitions found when you select custom.

The other option you can select is Use only free space on selected drives.  No
existing partitions will be touched.

This is not a bug.  It just requires users to read the partitioning screen.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.