Bug 23071 - wtmp entry not rolled over after logrotate
Summary: wtmp entry not rolled over after logrotate
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Linux
Classification: Retired
Component: logrotate (Show other bugs)
(Show other bugs)
Version: 7.0
Hardware: i386 Linux
medium
medium
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Erik Troan
QA Contact: David Lawrence
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2001-01-01 13:24 UTC by Yoda
Modified: 2007-04-18 16:30 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2001-01-01 13:24:13 UTC
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Yoda 2001-01-01 13:24:11 UTC
As an aside I removed the wtmp patch from pppd to enable utmp entries of ppp users.  Why is this disabled by default?

I would expect that when you rotate the wtmp file each month you would want the users who are "still logged in" to be transfered into the new wtmp file.

I would guess that the best way to do this is to effectively log them out of the old wtmp.1 and log them back into the new wtmp file.

This is very important for accounting purposes.

I would like to know your thoughts on this issue.

Thanks

Grahame Jordan

Comment 1 Preston Brown 2001-06-21 19:59:28 UTC
Users know that the user login record (wtmp) gets rotated monthly.  the "last" 
command can take a file to examine on the command line, so running last -f 
/var/log/wtmp.1 is possible to get around the issue you have raised.



Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.