Bug 248367 - Confusing behaviour in playlist editor
Confusing behaviour in playlist editor
Status: CLOSED UPSTREAM
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: rhythmbox (Show other bugs)
6
All Linux
low Severity low
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Bastien Nocera
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2007-07-16 10:34 EDT by Tim Waugh
Modified: 2007-11-30 17:12 EST (History)
0 users

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2007-10-11 09:28:06 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Tim Waugh 2007-07-16 10:34:36 EDT
Description of problem:
When removing a track from a playlist by right-clicking on it, there are two
relevant menu entries:

* Remove
* Move to Wastebasket

It is not clear what the difference is.  In fact, 'Move to Wastebasket' will
actually move the *original track* from your Library(!!), whereas Remove will do
the right thing and remove the track from the playlist (but keep the Library as-is).

This is very confusing, and will lead to people unintentionally losing tracks
from their Library.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
rhythmbox-0.9.8-2.fc6

How reproducible:
100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1.Create a playlist
2.Add a track to the playlist from the Library
3.Right-click on the track in the playlist
4.Try to decide what the opposite of step 2 is from the menu entries given

Actual results:
'Move to Wastebasket' is selected, no confirmation required, track is removed
from Library.

Expected results:
F-Spot is an example of an application that does this sort of thing much better.
Comment 1 Bastien Nocera 2007-08-20 07:47:46 EDT
Could you elaborate on the "F-Spot is an example of an application that does
this sort of thing much better."?

Should it be "Move file to Wastebasket"? Any other hints?
Comment 2 Tim Waugh 2007-08-24 10:37:27 EDT
The F-Spot menu items read:

Remove From Catalogue
Delete From Drive
Comment 3 Bastien Nocera 2007-10-11 09:28:06 EDT
I filed this upstream for discussion:
http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=485730

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.