Bug 4091 - need summary
need summary
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Red Hat Linux
Classification: Retired
Component: rhl-ig-x86 (Show other bugs)
6.0
i386 Linux
medium Severity medium
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Sandra Moore
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 1999-07-17 15:36 EDT by stefan
Modified: 2014-08-04 18:22 EDT (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 1999-07-19 10:16:04 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description stefan 1999-07-17 15:36:29 EDT
This is about the installation program for redhat 6.0

system: an intel P100, 32MB ram and 2 harddrives.
(/dev/hda, /dev/hdc)

My installation package was placed on an ext2 primary
partition on /dev/hdc1 which was once mounted at /home where
the server kept all files for samba at the intranet.

The installation package asked if i wanted to do a Server,
client or customize configuration. Usually i would choose a
customize configuration, but since this only would run the
typical default installation, i felt that "Server" would do
fine.

It told me that all information on the harddrive (or
harddrive_S_ ?) would be erased.  Ok with me, since i don't
need anything on /dev/hda.. but it couldn't possibly mean
that it would ruin my companys information on the /dev/hdc,
right? Since i even got the installation packages there.. It
can't be THAT stupid so it erases the disk with
the installation packages, right?

But it was that stupid.. :-/

Ok, 3 weeks without backup, but everyone on vacation would
make me have to redo all that 3 weeks of work..  (This is
just for you guys to feel pitty about me! ;))

I hope this will be solved until the next release..
Comment 1 Jay Turner 1999-07-19 10:16:59 EDT
A "server-class" installation is for the purpose of setting up a
server new and out of the box, in which case people are not concerned
with what came on the machine.  There are 2 warnings that tell the
user that all data will be erased from the hard drives.  Furthermore
it is clearly explained in the documentation for the installation that
all data, no matter the drive, will be erased with a server-class
installation.  Should you want to preserve data, you would want to
choose a workstation or custom installation.  This is not a bug in the
system, as the installer is acting just as programmed.  Bug is being
discarded for that reason.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.