Bug 517313 - zdump outputs superflous data when using -c loyear,hiyear
Summary: zdump outputs superflous data when using -c loyear,hiyear
Keywords:
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5
Classification: Red Hat
Component: glibc
Version: 5.3
Hardware: All
OS: Linux
low
medium
Target Milestone: rc
: ---
Assignee: Andreas Schwab
QA Contact: BaseOS QE
URL:
Whiteboard:
Depends On:
Blocks:
TreeView+ depends on / blocked
 
Reported: 2009-08-13 13:23 UTC by Karel Volný
Modified: 2017-10-30 15:27 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2009-08-17 14:53:02 UTC


Attachments (Terms of Use)

Description Karel Volný 2009-08-13 13:23:46 UTC
Description of problem:
When using a range of years to be displayed, data for the years 1901 and 1938 are displayed too, which it shouldn't.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
glibc-common-2.5-34.el5_3.1

How reproducible:
always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. zdump -v -c loyear,hiyear zone
  
Actual results:
.qa.[root@ppcp-5s-m1 tps]# zdump -v -c 2009,2010 Africa/Cairo
Africa/Cairo  Fri Dec 13 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Fri Dec 13 22:45:52 1901 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
Africa/Cairo  Sat Dec 14 20:45:52 1901 UTC = Sat Dec 14 22:45:52 1901 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
Africa/Cairo  Thu Apr 23 21:59:59 2009 UTC = Thu Apr 23 23:59:59 2009 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
Africa/Cairo  Thu Apr 23 22:00:00 2009 UTC = Fri Apr 24 01:00:00 2009 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
Africa/Cairo  Thu Aug 20 20:59:59 2009 UTC = Thu Aug 20 23:59:59 2009 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
Africa/Cairo  Thu Aug 20 21:00:00 2009 UTC = Thu Aug 20 23:00:00 2009 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
Africa/Cairo  Mon Jan 18 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Mon Jan 18 05:14:07 2038 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
Africa/Cairo  Tue Jan 19 03:14:07 2038 UTC = Tue Jan 19 05:14:07 2038 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200


Expected results:
.qa.[root@ppcp-5s-m1 tps]# zdump -v -c 2009,2010 Africa/Cairo
Africa/Cairo  Thu Apr 23 21:59:59 2009 UTC = Thu Apr 23 23:59:59 2009 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
Africa/Cairo  Thu Apr 23 22:00:00 2009 UTC = Fri Apr 24 01:00:00 2009 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
Africa/Cairo  Thu Aug 20 20:59:59 2009 UTC = Thu Aug 20 23:59:59 2009 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
Africa/Cairo  Thu Aug 20 21:00:00 2009 UTC = Thu Aug 20 23:00:00 2009 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200


Additional info:
note also that the description of the "-c" parameter is incomplete (see the bug #517309) and the text is quite confusing (at least for me, but I'm not native English speaker :-))

Comment 1 Andreas Schwab 2009-08-17 14:53:02 UTC
-c only affects the display of the timezone transitions.

Comment 2 Karel Volný 2009-08-19 13:22:08 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> -c only affects the display of the timezone transitions.  

well, while I do not seem to completely understand what is meant by "timezone transition", let's put the question in another way - if using -c does not work as I'd expect, is that possible to list only a range of years somehow?


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.