Bug 55889 - Change to "do not autocreate workspaces" by default
Change to "do not autocreate workspaces" by default
Status: CLOSED RAWHIDE
Product: Red Hat Linux
Classification: Retired
Component: sawfish (Show other bugs)
7.2
i386 Linux
medium Severity low
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Havoc Pennington
David Lawrence
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2001-11-08 07:52 EST by p929001
Modified: 2007-04-18 12:38 EDT (History)
0 users

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2002-03-01 10:22:15 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description p929001 2001-11-08 07:52:28 EST
Description of Problem:
When selecting "Send window to" -> "[Previous|Next] Workspace" (topleft
corner menu) when in the [first|last] workspace, a new (in my case fifth)
workspace is created, which extends the applet in the panel to 5
workspaces. The new workspace seems impossible to remove without logging
out and starting a new session, even when entering the configuration and
selecting 4 workspaces.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
sawfish-0.38-11
gdm-2.2.3.1-20

How Reproducible:
Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Start gdm
2. Log in
3. Bring up a window
4. Select "Send Window to"->"Previous workspace"

Actual Results:
New workspace created as described above

Expected Results:
Windows sent to last workspace ("wrapping around" to the last)

Additional Information:
Comment 1 p929001 2001-11-08 07:55:21 EST
It also pushes the clock to the left, such that the least significant digit of
the munites is not visible.
Comment 2 Federico Mena-Quintero 2001-12-17 19:49:48 EST
This is a configuration option.  Open the Sawfish capplet and go to the Desktops
section.  There you can select whether to stop/cycle/continue when going past
the last workspace.  You have "continue" set; select "cycle" for the behavior
you want.

Also, you *can* remove workspaces.  It works fine for me by resetting them in
the capplet.  However, the capplet does not seem to notice when you add a
workspace by moving a window to another workspace in the "continue" mode
described above.

Havoc, I guess we can mark this as notabug.
Comment 3 Havoc Pennington 2001-12-17 20:56:55 EST
I don't think autocreate should be our default setting. "stop" is the right
default IMO.
Comment 4 p929001 2001-12-18 02:07:56 EST
I upgraded to the new sawfish-1.0.1-1 (RawHide) and found this option (which is
found in the "Workspaces" capplet). Note that "Meta" -> "Options for" has to be
set to "expert users" for this option to be present. Thus the correct resolution
marking might be "RawHide". I don't think the option was present in my
sawfish-0.38-11, although I am not sure, as a downgrade I did to check it
corrupted my sawfish capplets. It could be that I never turned on the "expert"
options at the same time as checking the "Workspaces" capplet.

In conclusion, the bug can be closed, marked as "RawHide" if sawfish-1.0.1-1 is
needed, or "Notabug" if not.

I think the default should be "wrap-around" or "stop" for both settings.
Comment 5 Havoc Pennington 2002-03-08 15:00:19 EST
1.0.1-5 should disable this by default, though for people who've touched the 
setting it may remain enabled of course.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.