Bug 596300 - [abrt] crash detected in system-config-users-1.2.94-1.fc12
[abrt] crash detected in system-config-users-1.2.94-1.fc12
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Product: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6
Classification: Red Hat
Component: system-config-users (Show other bugs)
6.0
i686 Linux
high Severity high
: rc
: ---
Assigned To: Nils Philippsen
Ondrej Moriš
: Rebase
Depends On: 539251 627247
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-05-26 10:44 EDT by Nils Philippsen
Modified: 2010-11-10 16:44 EST (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version: system-config-users-1.2.99-1.el6
Doc Type: Rebase: Bug Fixes and Enhancements
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of: 539251
Environment:
Last Closed: 2010-11-10 16:44:02 EST
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Nils Philippsen 2010-05-26 10:44:45 EDT
+++ This bug was initially created as a clone of Bug #539251 +++

abrt detected a crash.

Comment: I pressed "delete user" (or "remove user"? have Polish version) at Users and Groups. When I pressed "No" or x (close button) nothing happened. I force closed it.
Attached file: backtrace
cmdline: /usr/bin/python2 /usr/share/system-config-users/system-config-users.py 
component: system-config-users
executable: /usr/share/system-config-users/system-config-users.py
kernel: 2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686
package: system-config-users-1.2.94-1.fc12
uuid: 40c080ec

--- Additional comment from kochas315@gmail.com on 2009-11-19 13:18:53 EST ---

Created an attachment (id=372305)
File: backtrace

--- Additional comment from kochas315@gmail.com on 2009-11-19 13:25:18 EST ---

Oh no! I just discovered ALL my configuration files was DELETED!!! I'm 100% sure I never pressed OK! All my themes, firefox bookmarks and other settings are now lost! (If i would delete user, I could not log in, right? I till use the same login and have the same password!)

THAT WAS CRITICAL FOR USER DATA! Good that I have Fedora for few days, I'm scared what would happened if I used it for a long time.

--- Additional comment from nphilipp@redhat.com on 2010-05-26 10:07:14 EDT ---

Sorry for taking so long to look into this (was busy with other stuff :-/). I've just checked the code and it deleted the account if the user did anything else other than clicking "No" (or "Nie" in your case)... Very nasty error, my apologies.

I've fixed this in the upstream git repository and will issue an update shortly.

--- Additional comment from nphilipp@redhat.com on 2010-05-26 10:32:07 EDT ---

Actually this BZ is two issues rolled into one:

- the traceback (which is annoying, but not so harmful)
- the erroneous removal of a user (or group)

The first one is not really fixable in this instance as the tool tries to remove a mountpoint which is bound to fail somehow. I've cleaned up the code around file deletion a bit though. Again, expect an update shortly.
Comment 1 RHEL Product and Program Management 2010-05-26 10:57:17 EDT
This request was evaluated by Red Hat Product Management for inclusion in a Red
Hat Enterprise Linux major release.  Product Management has requested further
review of this request by Red Hat Engineering, for potential inclusion in a Red
Hat Enterprise Linux Major release.  This request is not yet committed for
inclusion.
Comment 2 Nils Philippsen 2010-06-18 05:16:44 EDT
This is fixed in 1.2.99.
Comment 4 Alexander Todorov 2010-08-23 09:47:41 EDT
With system-config-users-1.2.104-1.el6 the user was not deleted when pressing No or closing the window. I've tested by:
- Clicking the No button
- Closing the dialog via the X button in the title
- Closing the dialog via the window menu in the title.

Moving to VERIFIED.
Comment 5 releng-rhel@redhat.com 2010-11-10 16:44:02 EST
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.0 is now available and should resolve
the problem described in this bug report. This report is therefore being closed
with a resolution of CURRENTRELEASE. You may reopen this bug report if the
solution does not work for you.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.