This service will be undergoing maintenance at 00:00 UTC, 2016-08-01. It is expected to last about 1 hours
Bug 698475 - Changes to Role permissions are not saving
Changes to Role permissions are not saving
Status: CLOSED CURRENTRELEASE
Product: RHQ Project
Classification: Other
Component: Core UI (Show other bugs)
4.0.0.Beta2
All All
high Severity medium (vote)
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Ian Springer
Corey Welton
:
Depends On:
Blocks: rhq4
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2011-04-20 19:39 EDT by Mike Foley
Modified: 2013-08-05 20:39 EDT (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2011-05-23 21:11:37 EDT
Type: ---
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:


Attachments (Terms of Use)
role permissions (52.35 KB, image/png)
2011-04-20 19:39 EDT, Mike Foley
no flags Details

  None (edit)
Description Mike Foley 2011-04-20 19:39:56 EDT
Created attachment 493664 [details]
role permissions

Description of problem:
Changes to Role permissions are not saving

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):


How reproducible:
100%

Steps to Reproduce:
1.  create a new role
2.  in Permissions, unset some write permissions
3.  click Save
4.  view the role again, changes to permissions were not saved
  
Actual results:

changes to role permissions were not saved


Expected results:

changes to role permissions are saved

Additional info:

see attached image
Comment 1 Mike Foley 2011-04-21 10:18:21 EDT
learned from ian: this may be a usability issue.  there are a lot of dependencies between the individual permissions that are not expressed in the UI that may be contributing to my perception that permissions were not being saved.
Comment 2 Ian Springer 2011-04-21 10:57:48 EDT
It appeared permission changes were not being saved, because the permissions that had been unset were re-selected due to being implied by MANAGE_INV or MANAGE_SEC.

[master 7b98837] should make this clearer to the user by displaying a transient message to inform the user when auto-selecting perms implied by a perm the user has just selected.
Comment 3 Ian Springer 2011-04-21 12:04:46 EDT
There was one more change needed to resolve this:

[master f9361b2] don't allow deselection of perms whose selection is implied by existing selection of MANAGE_SECURITY or MANAGE_INVENTORY, and display a transient warning message
Comment 4 Ian Springer 2011-04-21 13:39:05 EDT
One last change:

[master 294c067] in perm editor, don't allow deselection of CONFIGURE_READ if CONFIGURE_WRITE is selected
Comment 5 Sunil Kondkar 2011-05-04 08:20:39 EDT
Verified on rhq4 release build (Version: 4.0.0 Build Number: db0c817)

Below messages are displayed when user selects 'Manage inventory' or Manage Security' permissions:
1. Autoselected unselected permissions, since MANAGE_SECURITY implies all other permissions.
2. Autoselected unselected Resource permissions, since MANAGE_INVENTORY implies all Resource permissions.

User is not allowed to deselect permissions whose selection is implied by
existing selection of MANAGE_SECURITY or MANAGE_INVENTORY

Below example messages are displayed:
1.Inventory permissions cannot be deselected, unless Manage Inventory, which implies all Resource permissions is deselected first
2.Configure permission cannot be deselected unless the Manage Security permissions, which implies all Resource permission, which implies all other permissions is deselected first.

It displays a mesage and user is not allowed to deselect CONFIGURE_READ if CONFIGURE_WRITE is selected.
Comment 6 Corey Welton 2011-05-23 21:11:37 EDT
Bookkeeping - closing bug - fixed in recent release.
Comment 7 Corey Welton 2011-05-23 21:11:37 EDT
Bookkeeping - closing bug - fixed in recent release.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.