Bug 868676 - anaconda bypasses the resize dialog when 2 or more disks are selected but if one select each disk individually the resize dialog is correctly shown
anaconda bypasses the resize dialog when 2 or more disks are selected but if ...
Status: CLOSED NOTABUG
Product: Fedora
Classification: Fedora
Component: anaconda (Show other bugs)
18
x86_64 Linux
unspecified Severity high
: ---
: ---
Assigned To: Anaconda Maintenance Team
Fedora Extras Quality Assurance
:
Depends On:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2012-10-21 12:27 EDT by Reartes Guillermo
Modified: 2012-10-22 13:47 EDT (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Fixed In Version:
Doc Type: Bug Fix
Doc Text:
Story Points: ---
Clone Of:
Environment:
Last Closed: 2012-10-22 13:47:51 EDT
Type: Bug
Regression: ---
Mount Type: ---
Documentation: ---
CRM:
Verified Versions:
Category: ---
oVirt Team: ---
RHEL 7.3 requirements from Atomic Host:
Cloudforms Team: ---


Attachments (Terms of Use)

  None (edit)
Description Reartes Guillermo 2012-10-21 12:27:07 EDT
Description of problem:

If one selects each disks individually, anaconda does the right thing (it shows the 'PRESERVE/DELETE/SHRINK' dialog for each disk. The disks do have partitions and data. 

But if one select 2 or more disks, the dialog is not shown and if one presses 'continue' automatic partitioning will be used on all disks.

So, this might be a potential data loss.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):
F18b TC6

How reproducible:
always

Steps to Reproduce:
In this case, the guest has 3 disks, all with existing partitions.

0. Select one disk and 'continue'. Anaconda will shown the 'PRESERVE/DELETE/SHRINK' dialog.

1. Deselect that disk and select another, then 'continue'.  Anaconda will shown the 'PRESERVE/DELETE/SHRINK' dialog.

2. Select both disks, anaconda will say 'there is plenty of free space' and unless one selects 'manual partitioning' anaconda will shown 'automatic partitioning selected' in the main hub with potential data loss. (since all disks have existing partitions).
  
Actual results:
if one hits continue, automatic partitioning will be used on all disks.

Expected results:
the 'PRESERVE/DELETE/SHRINK' dialog.

Additional info:
Comment 1 Chris Lumens 2012-10-22 10:26:32 EDT
If the dialog is skipped, it is because you have enough space on your combined disks to continue with installation.  We currently fall back to LVM if we can make enough space by assembling all the various free space chunks into one big-enough one.

We do not do clearpart by default anymore, so automatic partitioning will only work with free space and not do anything destructive.  If you are seeing behavior other than this, please attach your /tmp/storage.log so we can see what happened.
Comment 2 Reartes Guillermo 2012-10-22 13:44:36 EDT
I did not observe any actual data loss yet.

As per comment #1 (and specially the second paragraph), this bug-report can be closed as NOTABUG.
Comment 3 Chris Lumens 2012-10-22 13:47:51 EDT
Great, thanks.  I know it's a little hard to keep up with the changes going on around storage especially.  We're really moving fast here.

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.